A&P Mirror Lock up?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Section8, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    So the D300 has a dial mode for mirror lockup, but you can't use it with the timer, guess there's no easy way to take long exposure shots that are clear without a remote?

    I thought my D70s could do it, but i can't get that damn thing to take a pic with the mirror locked up.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    the point of mirror lock up is to go beyond the preset time restraints

    also to clean the sensor :o
     
  3. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO

    I thought it was also to reduce shake during shutter release? I could swear I've read that somewhere. I've shot a lot of different exposure settings using the timer, and they all have a slight wobble on the stars that I can only attribute to the mirror movement on shutter release, they are too jagged to be normal earth rotation.
     
  4. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    are you using the countdown for the shutter release? or are you pushing the button?
     
  5. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    That's the thing, the settings for Mirror lock up and timer are on the D300's selector dial so i can pick only 1. Doesn't make sense to me.
     
  6. mikeskillz

    mikeskillz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    mirror lockup is generally used with a remote shutter release. its so that you don't get "mirror slap" in your pictures if you're shooting with an extreme telephoto or under some delicate circumstances.

    also if you're shooting a long exposure make sure you leave any image stabilizers off.
     
  7. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    I thought i had VR off when using my 55-200, but maybe I didn't. That shot above was done with my 28-70 anyway which doesn't have VR, and i still got blur from the mirror slap. Guess I just need to invest in a remote if i want to do this stuff.
     
  8. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,760
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    :rofl: Wrong & fail.

    The first thing is what B (bulb) mode is for in your shutter speed settings, and the second is what cleaning mode is for in the settings menus.

    Mirror lockup, as has already been said, is to minimize vibrations due to the movement of the mirror during some shooting circumstances.
     
  9. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    i think i realized that after mike posted :o
     
  10. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    :werd: in order to use mirror lockup, you have to hit the shutter twice, once to lock the mirror out of the way, and a second time to open the shutter. Without a remote shutter release, you're still going to be adding a bit of camera shake when trying to hit the button a second time straight from the camera, rendering your efforts useless.
     

Share This Page