mini is sooooooo much better with 1GB!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Furner, Dec 28, 2005.

  1. Furner

    Furner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I held out for xmas to get the 1gb stick for my mini, and I am so much in love with the system now. If you are questioning it, do it!
     
  2. trevor

    trevor There's always a brand new day

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    OSX needs a gig to run well, I don't know why they ship it with anything less. (Well I'm sure it's money)
     
  3. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    a gig is the minimum that should be ran in any machine. whats funny is when I bought my first computer (1999), I bought an unheard of 128mb instead of the standard 64mb. now its hard to even fathom the idea of running a machine on 128mb.
     
  4. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    my mom's mini seems to handle OSX okay w/ 512...then again all she uses is AOL and MS Word.

    I'll be upping my iBook up to 1 gig soon enough though :o
     
  5. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    my ibook is at 768 and I think it runs fine... it might run a bit better with a gig though. On the other hand, if I had a new ibook I'd be at a gig because that one comes with 512mb stock and the one I have comes with 256mb stock :o
     
  6. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    512 is minimum I would run tiger on. 1GB is ideal, and 2GB is a dream come true.
     
  7. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    same here, i have 768 in my 12" ibook and it runs fine.

    my new 20" imac runs ok with 512, but i am going to bump it up to 1.5GB here in a week or two. :wiggle:


    edit: i am going to buy the 1GB stick for my little cousins mini pretty soon. good to hear the performance increase is really noticeable. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2005
  8. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    Im running tiger on my pb with 512, adn I really have no complaints, and I push it pretty hard (photoshop and all)

    I think ill upt it to a gig or so with my xmas money
     
  9. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Just upgraded to 2Gb today. Man what a new machine compared to it with the 512mb it came with standard.

    Made a thread about it in OT to entice a nice war. :)
     
  10. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    and 16GB? :noes:
     
  11. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas

    you could open everything on your entire dock plus 50 widgets :eek4:
     
  12. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    only necessary for servers, or professional video use.
     
  13. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    my 1.5 GB is probably overkill for my use, but damn does it seem nice to brag about it :wiggle:
     
  14. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    just ordered 512 for my ibook...
    bringing my total to 1 gig :run:
     
  15. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    and run PS and image ready and final cut pro and aperature and, and...


    Someone should go to the store to see how many apps it takes before it slows down.

    I wonder what virtual PC would be like on a 16GB ram g5 quad?


    Does anyone have one, or does anyone know anyone with a fully loaded G5 quad with 16gigs and all?
     
  16. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    My friend works at Avid Cinemas and I'm sure some of the G5's are fully loaded there. I don't know if they have the new ones tho.
     
  17. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    384mbs :wtc:

    not to mention my <1gig processor, and I'm still running a G3.

    So stop complaining, unless u can top that.
     
  18. fishyhell

    fishyhell muscle68>catholic school children

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA

    Ummm i think that's right. I think it still have 256 soldered on board

    then a 256 stick

    once you put the 512 in you have to remove the 256.
     
  19. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    the newer ones have 512 soldered to the board...
     
  20. bikehorn

    bikehorn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbridge, Ontario
    i have a current-revision 12" iBook and up until yesterday i was using the stock built-in 512 MB ...i added another 512 last night and holy shit...boot times were cut by at least 1/3 and the dashboard now loads as it should - as soon asyou tap your assigned dash key(default is f12, mine is f8). plus, hardly ever a beachball!

    i heart RAM.
     
  21. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    :noes: you're making me want to pull the trigger on getting 512 for mine :hsd:
     
  22. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    get it...and get it now...
    just got my 512 in today, took 2 minutes to pop it in, and it's sooooo much better...faster boots, more programs, easier to switch stuff around...

    i got some cheap ram from newegg ($40), and it's great...1 gig ftw :bowdown: :bowdown:
     
  23. easy4lif

    easy4lif New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    i have 2 GB on my iMac G5 2Ghz and 768MB for my ibook G3 900Mhz. the laptop is only used for internet surfing with firefox, and some lite word processing. my imac however has every program i use + major games like doom 3, COD, and x-plane.

    P.S. Can't wait till COD 2 comes out. and YES it will be coming to the mac. check out this months issue of macworld and look for the ad for COD deluxe edition to see thats its coming
     
  24. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    what brand did you get?
     
  25. bikehorn

    bikehorn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbridge, Ontario
    I'm not sure what he got, but i picked up this Aeneon stuff which is apparently the OEM name for Infineon RAM. you could probably pick up some Corsair Value Series RAM from Tigerdirect.com for pretty cheap too.
     

Share This Page