Mini HTPC v2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CarRamRod, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    New house, new TV, so I finally got around to a new setup for the Mini HTPC. Got a DVI-to-HDMI cable running 1920x1080, then analog out to the Arcam AVR-200 (trust me, analog out on this little guy is up to the task). Right now it's regulated to mostly music duty, but it might go to DVD duty because the XBox is kinda loud. Pictures kinda suck (at night, so not a lot of natural light) but you can see the little guy under the TV on the right side.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Shinsei Ryu

    Shinsei Ryu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    The audio jack on the mini also has optical, why not use that?
     
  3. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Arcam unit only has one true optical in, the other is a "Tape monitor", so I gotta research that. The optical is being used by the 360.
     
  4. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    what speakers have you got hooked up to the arcam?
     
  5. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I don't know a lot about video, but when I hooked up my mini to my 41" lcd via DVI, I couldn't get a very good resolution.

    and AFAIK, the mini doesn't come with a better option for the video card.
     
  6. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    they look like polk audio... rti4's perhaps
     
  7. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Polk Audio LSi9 and a LSiC center. I've got LSiFX for the rear, but they aren't hooked up yet.
     
  8. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Depends on the native resolution of the LCD, on mine it's 100% fine.
     
  9. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    how do I find the native res on my tv? product manual?

    What is your native res?
     
  10. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yea, manual should have it.

    1920x1080 is my native res.
     
  11. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  12. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    1366 x 768 is a normal "720p" resolution.

    Just set the Mini for native res and you should be OK.
     
  13. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    The 1080 is the number of vertical lines.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1080i

    I know my mini doesn't look all that great hooked to my HD TV. I have a 25ft DVI to HDMI cable run from the mini to the TV but have only used it once. Use XBMC instead for streaming content from the server, etc.
     
  14. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I knew that much, but what I didn't know is, when the tv has a sticker on it that says 1080i, that the native resolution (the fixed number of actual pixels the monitor has) could be 312 pixels smaller. I thought it was telling me the native resolution, instead of the processing capabilities of the tv.

    So the tv can accept 1080i, it will just shrink the picture 29%.

    Which explains why my mac mini could only go up to 1366x768 resolution, but on my apple cinema display I am running it a lot higher.
     
  15. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    How well does the mini play HD content? Having 1080p is a nice feature, but if it can't support HD content well (rips and the like), kinda useless for me.
     
  16. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Well I have had no problem watching HD movies on the mini. From a download of course.

    the specs say it supports 1920x1200 resolution, I guess your limitation is in your display in whether or not it can do 1080i or 1080p

    http://www.apple.com/macmini/specs.html
     
  17. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Haven't really tried it. Don't do much torrent stuff.
     
  18. SigmaNuClay

    SigmaNuClay I'll show you my nunchuk...

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    18,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Where'd you get that TV stand? It looks like it's from bolts furniture...
     
  19. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yep, Boltz. Really like it, casters FTW. My CD/DVD racks are Boltz too.
     
  20. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    It didn't play all that well in VLC for me on an Intel Core Duo 1.6GHz mini with 1.25GB RAM. Audio was fine but picture was choppy. Haven't tried it since I upgraded to Leopard and 2GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page