Microsoft Access Halp!!!! :wtc:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by wait*what, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. wait*what

    wait*what OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    74,356
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Created database in Microsoft Access....


    All I want to do is put database on a disk and give to someone who can use my forms/tables etc etc etc...to their needs. I'll have my copy for my use and they'll have theirs for their use on a seperate computer and network. I tried making copies but always saves them as "Read-only" files and obviously can't change/add info to database. How do I make copy??? :hs: :confused:

    :hs::hs:

    Thanks OT :bowdown:
     
  2. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    The database should just be one file.

    filename.mdb

    With it open you could do a "Save As" and save it onto the other media (disk, flash drive, etc) or you could just drag and drop it into the new folder...however you like.

    If it is read only, right click on the COPIED version and select properties. Uncheck the "Read Only" property.
     
  3. wait*what

    wait*what OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    74,356
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    and it would be that fucking simple
    :uh: thanks broseph :wackit:
     
  4. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    You do realize though that the data you enter on YOUR copy will not be in the copy that your friend has on his computer...right?

    You could come back later and merge them with a query...but that is a lesson for another day. ;-)
     
  5. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    I just spent ~20 hours trying to solve an Access problem involving an .asp page on a website. I know how frustrating it can be. My solution was just about as simple...and eluded just as much.
     
  6. wait*what

    wait*what OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    74,356
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    yeah thats fine....don't care about the data.

    just want to share this database i created and have another department enter their own data using my forms/tables format. I tried and it wouldn't let them "modify" enter data cause it was a read only file.

    I'm trying your advice now :bigthumb:
     
  7. wait*what

    wait*what OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    74,356
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    Tell me about it...
    I needed to create a whole new database from scratch and never ever ever once using Access in my life....finally after 4 days and using this pathetic "Access Bible", which I'm about to return :slap: , i've created my database :bowdown:



    Then boss says...send it over to So and So Police department so they can use it for their program....... :hs: :ugh: ....I run into this fucking problem. ok...trying it now
     
  8. wait*what

    wait*what OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    74,356
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    yeah thats not working either:sad2:
     
  9. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Could be the properties actually within the database. Have you checked those? I can't remember the menu off the top of my head. Tools? / Permissions?
     

Share This Page