Memory with Windows XP question?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Little Spunky $#!T, Mar 28, 2003.

  1. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a friend that has 64mb of memory and is wanting Windows XP installed. Will XP run efficiently with 64mb or will it be slow?

    Thanks
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i wouldn't run xp on anything less then 128mb for a pc. It takes up about 100mb just running.
     
  3. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    I installed XP Prof on a P166MMX with 64MB Ram :) And it works for the basic stuff of Word, Excel and so on...

    Tell your friend to buy some memory its very cheap.
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,411
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Yeah it'll run, but it'll be so slow you'll wish it would just crash and put you out of your misery. Since this machine only has 64MB now, I'm going to guess its a little older. Bump the RAM to 256+ to compensate for the slower CPU. Also turn off all the visual enhancement crap. PM me if you don't know how.
     
  5. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I ordered a 256 chip for him, put it in, the BIOS recognized it but it wouldn't boot

    It gave me some error in DOS after the Win 98 screen appeared :dunno:
     
  6. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Do yourself a favor and buy brand memory like Samsung, Corsair, Cruical usw.

    And post the error msg so we can say more...
     

Share This Page