Memory speeds?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CRC, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. CRC

    CRC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    14,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    is PC3200 DDR333? What about DDR400? I'm just confused about the speeds, its been awhile :o

    PC2100 = DDR???
    PC2700
    PC3200
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    FSBSPEED:::: DDRSPEED::::NAME(s)::
    100 Mhz :::: 200 Mhz ::::::: PC-1600 or DDR-200
    133 Mhz :::: 266 Mhz ::::::: PC-2100 or DDR-266
    150 Mhz :::: 300 Mhz ::::::: PC-2400 or DDR-300
    166 Mhz :::: 333 Mhz ::::::: PC-2700 or DDR-333
    200 Mhz :::: 400 Mhz ::::::: PC-3200 or DDR-400
     
  3. CRC

    CRC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    14,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    :bowdown:

    Can different memory run at different speeds? Like can PC-3200 run at 166Mhz FSB and 333MHz DDRSPEED? If so, is that all controlled in the BIOS on the motherboard?
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    You need to get whichever kind your motherboard is designed for. Most P4 mobo's can handle 400/333/266 BUT if you have a 266 stick and install a 333 it'll only be as fast as the 266. So yeah a faster stick can run at a lower speed (if you have the slower ram installed at the same time) but a slower stick can't run at a higher speed.

    did that make sense?
     
  5. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,744
    Likes Received:
    2
    slower sticks can run faster, it's called overclocking. but getting a PC3000 memory module to run PC3200 isn't always going to be "faster" because of cas latency.

    I had a COrsair XMS PC3000 stick running 2 3 3 5. I overclocked it to PC3200 but running at 2.5 3 3 6.

    I now have XMS PC3200 @ 2 3 3 5. and I have gotten it to run PC3000 1.5 3 3 5, but I decided to keep it running @ DDR400
    thus making a PC3200 module run at a "slower" PC3000
     

Share This Page