Memory Question 4 vs 8

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sex Machine, Oct 15, 2009.

?

Memory Question 4 vs 8

  1. 4GB PC8500

    8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  2. 8GB PC6400

    10 vote(s)
    55.6%
  1. Sex Machine

    Sex Machine New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Would put 4GB 1066 (PC2-8500) or 8GB 800 (PC2-6400)?
     
  2. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
  3. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    On multiple occasions I've bought less RAM because it was "faster," and each time I've regretted it down the line.

    Get the 8 gigs.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Which OS and do you do anything that's memory intensive?
     
  5. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    I was going to note that there is no performance increase above 6GB (as of yet).
     
  6. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I remember when people said the same thing about 4GB... it wasn't even that long ago :hs:
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you can buy smaller, faster RAM, and then buy more smaller, faster RAM later.

    Anyway, for XP you really don't need more than 2GB. I think Vista needs 3GB to run well, not sure how much is the most that's useful. Probably 6GB.
     
  8. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    My rule of thumb is buy as much quantity-wise as you can afford. For the majority of situations quantity > speed, because using RAM is far better and faster than trying to rely on VMM/swap. (I run a lot of virtual machines and do server-type tasks, so that is almost always true in my case. I run 64-bit Server 2008 on my box, even as a workstation OS).
     
  9. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    Also remember if it's 32-bit XP/Vista there is a kernel limitation as far as the quantity it will be able to use.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but I'd hope nobody's buying a 32-bit OS anymore, unless it's XP and they need it for compatibility reasons.
     
  11. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    In which case I'd tell them to run it in a VM atop their 64-bit OS (XP 64-bit never was very good, and still isn't). Especially since such a feature is built into Win7 now.

    The biggest problem in terms of 32-bit vs. 64-bit distribution is all about OEM integration. As far as I've noticed, most manufacturers are still bundling 32-bit OSes with new machines. Whether or not that will change with Win7, we'll have to wait a week or so and see.
     
  12. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Funny I was reading this forum about memory addressing and physical addressing while doing some research on using a page file or not yesterday. Longest argument but mature bickering that I've ever read lol

    When I bought my system it came with only 3 gigs of ram and it is a 64 bit. Best thing I ever done was upgraded the ram to 8 gigs. Its 5400 unfortunatly but works great. I can't complain at all. I expected there to be problems becase of a 64 bit platform but I have not run into one single problem. I use it just the same as I did when I was using a 32 bit. I watch hd videos on it, use photoshop and cs4 a lot, vmware workstation, play call of duty and wolfenstein on it, and other general uses. I now dual boot it with Windows 7
     
  13. Sex Machine

    Sex Machine New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Sorry I forgot to mention I'm running Windows 7 64-bit
     
  14. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    Definitely get the 8GB then. :bigthumb:
     
  15. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    I always told myself that, but I never did it. By the time I'm ready to buy more ram, I end up just upgrading the entire core of the machine (mobo, cpu, ram).
     

Share This Page