Media Center Idea (need input)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mac, Apr 13, 2006.

  1. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    ive got this old pc i bought in 2000 that im replacing but the thing still has life in it so ive decided to use it as a sort of media center in my living room.

    specs:
    IBM
    pentium 3-667 mhz proc
    256 mb ram
    geforce2 mx 400 vid card- 64mb memory

    ok, my plans are to format, reinstall XP then dump all the family's MP3's onto the harddrive, which i can then hook up to the receiver on the sound system. so basically itll be used mainly for playing music and not other content. im also not interested in using it as a PVR or any of that shit. i have the ability to acquire XP media center edition but i dont think my specs are sufficient to install. so im looking for a free (or not) media center style alternative that will run in XP Pro. i want something so that if the pc is hooked up to the tv, browsing Music would be easy using say, a remote..like with XP media center. any help would be awesome.:)
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    ATI All-In-Wonder video cards come with (I think) one of the best media center softwares available. It's not free, but it works. It'll tune TV too, so you could use the komp as a true media center if you ever decided you wanted to. All-In-Wonder cards also come with radio remote controls as part of the standard package.

    Buy another stick of memory, 512MB if you can get it or 256 if you can't. 256MB will run XP, but not particularly well, especially if you have Winamp and/or Windows Media Player and/or Internet Explorer running at the same time.

    Question: How are you going to see what you're doing on the computer? An HDTV is good enough to show a computer screen, but any regular TV blows rather large and slimy chunks of barely-identifiable substances when it gets used as a computer screen.
     
  3. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    gb-pvr is amazing once you get it working (google it). Also look at mediaportal (dunno if that's a windows or not...).
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...once you get it working... :hsugh:
     
  5. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I tried for months to get mediaportal to work as advertised and never did.

    I've read about Meedio (http://www.meedio.com) but never use it. Check that out (this is not an endorsement, just a suggestion).

    667/256 is definitely not enough for a media PC.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I tried out Media Portal for a while...

    It took a lot of work to get it running right for me, but it's nothing compared to Windows MCE which I am running now.

    I only found out abut Meedio a couple days ago, but never tried it. I don't think it's free though.
     
  7. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    In winMCE can you rip DVDs to the hard drive and store them on the PC to play back later?

    it's not.
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Yes, you can...

    There's a reg hack to do it in MCE itself or this program (http://www.mymovies.name/) will do it too.
     
  9. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    you pushing it with a sub 1ghz system.. but then again as long as you dont recorded/encode anything you may be okie.
     
  10. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ

    dought you can with a 1ghz proc
     
  11. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Windows MCE is definitely not going to run well on that system, if at all. We are running it on a 2.6 P4 here at work, and even on that, it's not really all that fast.
     
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The original poster was not the one who asked that quesion... I just answered to let him know.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would you be running Windows MCE on an office PC?
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    MCE will run on that machine if you optimize it. I have run XP Pro on a P3 500MHz w/256MB RAM and performance was acceptable for office use and playing mp3's. Proper optimizations, memory, and a lack of spyware are the key to XP running well.

    MCE is hands-down the best for what you require. It does PVR, but nothing forces you to use those functions.
     
  15. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    alright im gonna use meedio, it meets my needs. and yes, theres a free version. thanks for the suggestions guys. i appreciate it. :)
     
  16. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    there's really a free version, or there's a "free :ugh:" version?

    my boss uses meedio and likes it.
     
  17. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    theres the 'express' version which allows you to use the MP3 library functionality completely, so itll work for me.
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Y'know, if all you wanted was an mp3 player, Winamp has a media library now, and it has a big ol' buttload of plugins available to customize it.
     
  19. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    MythTV box that badboy!!
     
  20. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
  21. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's a computer company, and we use it as a demo machine to "show-off" the technology.
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh. I'd assumed it was used for something more than its looks. (shrug)
     
  23. NGA WHAT?

    NGA WHAT? New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    In for later
     

Share This Page