MIL MDs and the military

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by flyinace09, Mar 24, 2006.

1. flyinace09

flyinace09 New Member

Hello all,

I am currently a pre-med student and am planning on attending medical school in the future. I originally was in ROTC but the unit at my school was, to say the least, sub-standard. I left the Air Force ROTC so that I can continue my classes and not get sucked into their life. I am currently on the NY State Guard (long story there as to how I got there) as an E-4.
    My plan is to go through OCS either before or right after graduating with my bachelors degree. Money for medical school is not my worry either.

I have heard though that dentists and doctors have a different form of OCS/OTS though. Does that training occur before they get their MD, or after they get their MD and decide to enter the military? I am trying to bust this "myth" that none of the recruiters can give me a straight answer on. Any help would be great!

2. burton564

burton564 New Member

if you have a md, you go through a 2 week version of ocs. you just learn customs and traditions and all that bullshit. then they give you your o-3

3. Accord

Accord New Member

My best friend is currently at Ohio State Medical School on the army's dime and is going to a 6 week OCS type thing this summer and he's only in his first year of med school. He automatically becomes an O-3 once he graduates med school and becomes an actual MD.

4. GochuBoy

GochuBoy OT Supporter

:gtfo: and become a real Doc. Don't be a MIL Doc. They'll probably end up teaching you some lazy ass habits.

5. shiba

shiba Active Member