MBP + Home Theater

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dysfnctnl85, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Has anyone hooked up their MBP (or MacBook - dunno if they support TOSlink too) to receiver and/or a TV yet?

    I'm just wondering what your experience has been...
     
  2. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mini, iMac, and Mac Pro all support toslink optical output to your surround sound receiver. For most content it will be strictly two channel, but if you play a DVD, it will be in Dolby Digital/DTS.

    The analog outputs on the MB, MBP, iMac, and Mini are very good as well. Dunno about the Mac Pro, I would assume they are decent.
     
  3. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    dvi-hdmi converter FTW!
     
  4. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Does anyone know if I can output video/audio from my MBP to a TV through either composite (RCA style jacks), S-Video or coaxial? My iBook was able to do so through the headphone jack w/ use of a special cable (also sent video through the jack). I travel frequently and would be cool if I could watch movies on the TV's in hotel rooms :hs:
     
  5. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    they did away with the svideo port?

    i have seen adapters for the intel imacs which are used in the minidvi port but give you composite. does the mbp have the same port?
     
  7. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
  8. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Only video output is DVI, no composite or svideo out
     
  9. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Yeah our HDTV doesn't have HDMI, so I wonder how the composite video looks.

    Thanks for the responses guys!
     
  10. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
  11. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It's ONLY for ATI cards though, they do not work on the Apple products!
     
  12. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    got a vga in on your tv? thats gotta be your next best bet.
     
  13. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    its an hdtv without hdmi, or dvi? thats wierd....

    you can find dvi-component adaptors... composite will look like poop
     
  14. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    They made HDTVs before DVI and HDMI :)
     

Share This Page