MBP Core Duo = 64 bit?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by -=Likwid=-, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. -=Likwid=-

    -=Likwid=-

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    9,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know? i'm finding conflicting things, but am curious if it's got the capability to host a 64bit system?
     
  2. Supamoochu

    Supamoochu New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia - soon to be without porn
    if i recall correctly no they aren't. well actualy i think the chip itself maybe, however it has not been enabled by intel.

    the core2's are 64bit.

    edit: actually according to wiki : Intel Core is the name used for the 32-bit processor codenamed Yonah (Hebrew יונה), released on January 5, 2006.

    32-bit processes only. 64-bit processes are not supported. (See the Intel Core 2 successor, which is a 64-bit processor.)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core
     
  3. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Core Duo == 32bit
    Core 2 Duo == 64bit
     
  4. -=Likwid=-

    -=Likwid=-

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    9,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn it.

    wonder if it'll be a major difference in the apps i use.

    thanks anyway
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Sweeeeet.
     
  6. zennoodle

    zennoodle ...hmm must've misplaced my socks

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    3,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Exactly my thoughts...I have a mbp with the coreduo and was hoping to take advantage of leopard's 64bit OS but I'll probably just use my student discount to snag another macbook pro down the line when this one is toast or just use this for my traveler. I don't know... macs are fun. :)
     
  7. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    As far as I'm aware the benefits of 64-bit all relate to being able to work with large data sizes (really large data sizes), for your average user it wouldn't make a difference. Talking about Databases, huge 3D models, HD video etc.
     
  8. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    any numbers or graphs on CD compared to C2D?
     

Share This Page