MIL May try to enlist in the Marines.....again.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by General Dissary, Feb 2, 2006.

1. General Dissary

General Dissary New Member

Hello all. I am a 19 year old sophomore in college and recently a USMC recruiter approached me and we started talking about enlisting.

The problem is that I already tried joining the Marines and everyother US military branch my Senior year of high school.

I even went through like 3 different Army Recruiters. The thing is I was born with an ear deformity and as a result I have bad hearing on my left ear, but it has never been a problem.

The last time I tried to enlist, which was a few years ago I was told I had a permantently disqualifying condition or something. I tried to get waivers, wrote to my congressmen and all that, but I was pretty much told I couldnt get in.

I told the Marine Sgt. trying to recruit me all this but he says he still wants to give it a shot.

My question is how likely am I to get in? I really doubt anything will come of this but who knows, maybe things have changed since they have been struggling to meet enslistment requirements.

So has anyone here gotten a waiver for hearing loss or anything similar? Or any new enlistees found them to be a little more lenient on the requirements?

Although I am doing well in school I would leave to basic tomorow if they would let me, serving has been something I always wanted to do. So any help or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Rodthrower18

Rodthrower18 New Member

My recruiter and my OSO have both told me there are waivers for damn near everything but blindness, being stuck in a wheelchair, and felonies. Good luck to you.

3. Accord

Accord New Member

I can't offer you any advice, but good luck man, I hope you get a waiver and get in.

4. SweetDaddyO

SweetDaddyO we need a montage!!