matx power supply in atx case

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Just wanted to check before I bought anything. Will a Micro PS3 ATX power supply fit in an ATX case?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The question is will it bolt in, and the short answer is no.

    The matx psu's have a different bolt pattern.

    They are smaller and will physically fit in the space, however.

    So you could rig it in there somehow.

    I went the other way on a micro-atx case. I took the micro psu out, and put
    a regular atx psu in there. I had to do some modding to get it to work.
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Problem I'm having is we are looking for replacement power supplies for our older dell computers to get a few more years out of them. However most power supplies have a on/off switch and the dell's don't have a hole for it. Seems the only power supplies I've found without a switch are Micro ATX or more than $50.
     
  4. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    haha yea I'm not going to waste my time drilling out every computer we replace a power supply on. They all went out of warranty less than a year ago and it seems that every 2 weeks we have at least 2 power supplies go out. If it were up to me they would just buy a new computer, but I guess some departments don't want to spend the money :greddy: but instead want to spend <$50 on a new power supply that will probably eventually take out the whole system.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Use spacers to set the psu back in the case about 1/4". That way the switch won't hit the chassis and you don't need to cut any metal.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be perfectly honest, this sounds like way more work than it's worth, regardless of the approach taken.

    If the power supplies still work, use the computers. If they don't, replace the computers. Or, buy an extended warranty for them and have Dell fix the problems.
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I agree with you but its not my call. Unless the department wants to fork over the money we have to fix them best we can.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If they're not broken, they don't need to be fixed. This was addressed in a previous thread.
     

Share This Page