Masking a car...

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by Skoles, Jul 20, 2006.

1. Skoles

Skoles Guest

I don't think it's really mentioned that much.

- How do you properly do it and what tape do you buy?
    - Do you tape up just the rubber or include the emblems/sidemarkers too?
    - How long does it take you?
    - When you clean the trim, do you mask the surrounding paint beforehand?

2. Buck-O

Buck-O Guest

1: The only decent tape worth buying IMHO, is the Scotch 3m Green High-Tack masking tape. Sticks to just about anything, and leaves no adhesive residue.

1b: Masking is an acquired taste. I used to be an interior house painter. And did alot of high end work. Which required ALOT of masking. And as a result ive become very proficient at it, and can mask a perfectly straight line, and match just about any countour. Its just a mater of practice, taking your time, learning not to stretch the tape narrow, and learning how to work with it. Bestt hing to do is buy some cheaper masking tape (i still recemend the cheap tan Scotch 3m, becuase it doesnt leave adhesive residue), and mask the shit out of everything untill you learn how to run a tape line. I also recemend useing 2 inch masking tape for most car jobs, so it give you a git of room to work.

2: Depends on the emblems and side markers. SOme emblems ill mask, others i wont. If it looks like it would be a pain in the ass to get your polish and wax out of, chances are it needs to be masked.

3: Again, im a bad judge of this. Beucase i can whip out the masking on a car in less then 20 minutes most of the time. It will probibly take you well over a half our the first couple of times you do it. Again, practice, practice, practice...use the cheapy stuff, andmake it work for you. Then move to the nice hich tack green.