Man it's nice to have a clean, snappy install of windows again :)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ziggy!Talon, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    It had been like 3 months since i reinstalled





    [​IMG]











    [​IMG]



    Specs, for anyone who is interested/into computers:

    Epox 4PEA+
    Intel Pentium 4 @ 3.0Ghz / 664mhz FSB
    512mb KingMAX PC2700 DDR
    Nvidia Geforce 3 64mb DDR @ 230mhz/530mhz core/memory
    AudioExcel Theater Dolby Digital, DTS, sound card
    3 7200rpm Maxtor discs @ ATA100
    LG 48X CDR, CDRW
    LG 16X DVD-ROM
    21" Likom CRT @ 1152x864 @ 100hz
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 28, 2003
  2. Xoria

    Xoria Keep the change, ya filthy animal.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    32,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    it wouldve been cooler if it said 12345
     
  3. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    What video card is that?
     
  4. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Nevermind.. it looked like the taskbar was spanned across two monitors before.
     
  5. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    Geforce 3 64mb DDR.... weakest link in my system, soon to replaced with a 9500 Pro
     
  6. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    yeah, fucking advanced thread reply view or whatever was owning me....
     
  7. Tool

    Tool Erect Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    24,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona Bay
    I havent formatted in over a year, and my windows 98se install is still performing as well as it did day one. Better infact, the new video card drivers i downloaded helped my fps a good bit. I am jesus at maintaining windows :hs:
     
  8. perfekt

    perfekt Guest

  9. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    wow, you act like 3 months is a huge amount of time to wait for a reinstall. My regular desktop would be getting 3 months of uptime if it weren't for those stupid Software Updates that force reboot.
     
  10. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    i remember the windows 98 days, i couldnt go 3 weeks without a reinstall, it would just get sluggish...and i hated how it would perform worse after being on for long periods of time...

    stability and power wise:
    Windows 2000 SP4 > *.windows
     
  11. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    my computer stays on pretty much 24/7 too, i just like to keep everything fresh and clean...
     
  12. Tool

    Tool Erect Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    24,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona Bay
    :dunno: the only instability I have had is hardware related (spontaniously rebooting and other shit like that) and I like the less memory overhead
     
  13. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    a very long time ago when i bought my second hard drive for my machine i partitioned it all out nicely to have a music drive, porn drive, and windows root+program files drive... so now when i need to start over, i just repartition/format my windows drive, install fresh OS, install software,and be done with it, i made a slipstreamed SP4 windows 2000 CD a couple nights ago because someone posted a link to a how to, so that cut down on time for windows updates.. :)
     
  14. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    i used to get alot of BSOD's win98 no matter what i did, i cant remember the last time i got one with Win2k, and there hasnt been as much as a hiccup since i reinstalled this time, but then again i havent been running 9X OS's since i had my old Tbird 1.2 machine.... if you stop all the unneeded services from running with 2K and XP you can get the memory overhead down to pretty low, my machine right after bootup takes up 63Mb of my 512Mb, so i dont think it's too bad....
     
  15. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    here's the link :) http://www.bink.nu/Bootcd/default.htm

    i think it works the same way for XP as it does for 2000, the screenshots they show are on an XP machine, so i figure it should work...
     
  16. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    i dunno, i just like that resolution the best, it's not too small, but it's not all gay and big, it's just the way i like it....

    that and i like being able to run a 100hz refresh rate, and have my PS/2 port refresh rate at 100hz also, makes mouse movement as smooth as butter.... :)

    my moniter does a max resolution of 2048x1536 :eek3: at 60hz though :hs:
     
  17. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    cool :)

    let me ask you a question, are you able to run an FTP server at your home?
     
  18. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    check your PM's jason
     

Share This Page