malwarebytes anti malware not starting

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ccrooks, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    pretty sure i have a virus or a trojan or something, and mbam won't execute for me. anyone else run into this problem? any thoughts on how to fix it?
     
  2. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    try in safe mode? most spyware prevents programs from running

    See if you can get hijackthis to run(may have to rename the hijackthis installer to something different, to get it to run), and post the log file.

    edit: or message me on AIM(braegjus)
     
  3. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,469
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Chris, if you get stuck and want me to take a look at it let me know.
     
  4. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try renaming the exe.
     
  5. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    it's in safe mode right now, chugging away at the virus check... so far, it's found 3 instances of bloodhound.exploit.213
     
  6. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    yeah, i did that - i renamed it first to mabm.exe, then when that didn't work, i renamed it to mbam.bat and that didn't work either
     
  7. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    fdisk




    you could probably back up your shit and reformat 5 times in less time than it takes to sift through hijack this logs....and that'll gaurantee you're clean.
     
  8. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    You are an idiot, it takes maybe 5 minutes.

    Yeah, you're going to have a clean PC, but you are going to waste a whole fucking week getting your shit back to normal.
     
  9. pyehac

    pyehac if she's old enough to cross the street, she's old

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    usually renaming the mbam.exe to something like am.exe works for me
     
  10. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    still nothing - and i can't install hijackthis, either

    i'm ready to pony up the money to get a full version of Trojan Remover, as it's the only thing that's looking like it'll run (besides arovax anti sypware and symantec anti virus) on my computer

    any other thoughts?
     
  11. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    PM me or send me a message on AIM(I will be out for a couple hours).
     
  12. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    i may have fixed it... ponied up and bought the trojan remover registration... since it was the only thing that ran, i thought that'd be a good idea...

    thing worked well enough to get my malwarebytes working again, and it looks like the problem's cleaned up

    thanks for the help, guys!
     

Share This Page