A&P Making the most of a non-DSLR macro mode...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by bugman, Dec 5, 2006.

  1. bugman

    bugman Demonic Gecko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    9,614
    Likes Received:
    51
    Hey,

    All I have at home currently is a Canon Sd400 which is 5mp. Its a family camera, but I use it most of the time. All I do with it 99% of the time is take macro pics, but when i get really really close to the subject it blurs.

    Is there any cheap addons to this to allow for even more macro?

    Also any way to get rid of the white dot that shows up in all the pics in their eyes?

    Anyway, heres some shots to show you what Im talking about....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    the white dot is from your flash. try putting some tissue around the flash, or otherwise it can be easilly edited out with some photo editing software.
     
  3. bugman

    bugman Demonic Gecko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    9,614
    Likes Received:
    51
    thanks...on a different forum said it will always be messed up because when you are that close with a point and shoot camera, the flash doesnt cover the lens area well enough.

    Someone else suggested putting a magnifing glass in front of the lens for more zoom :dunno:
     
  4. CornUponCob

    CornUponCob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quite a few P&S cameras loose sharpness and gain heavy barrel distortions when shooting in "macro mode" that's why they have a Macro Mode seperate from the normal focusing range.
     
  5. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    It is because the flash is mounted in close proximity to the lens. The advantage of a real camera and external flash - you can move the flash and put different diffusers in between.
     
  6. bugman

    bugman Demonic Gecko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    9,614
    Likes Received:
    51
    Im thinking of maybe just ditching the flash at all, and just putting 2 bright bulbs on either side of the subject...think that would work?
     
  7. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    sure, but you will probably need a tripod.
     

Share This Page