Making my first gaming pc, and yes i am a noob so i came seeking help.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by shadowoperative, Apr 20, 2010.

1. shadowoperative

shadowoperative Rawest asian alive, so raw they call me sashimi.

I've got some of the stuff that i want to get and did some research on it but so far i've decided to go with this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130239

and this...

i was going to shoot for the i5 since it was cheaper but i've saved up the extra and went for the i7

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115214&cm_re=i7-860-_-19-115-214-_-Product

and here is the case i want to put it in.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811103011&Tpk=windtunnel%20xclio

i know what i need left is ram, Hard drive, disk drives, video cards and a good power supply. But how can i tell what is decent to best for this current setup? Or is the beg of this setup not really worth it?

I appreciate your help guys.

2. CodeX

CodeX Guest

budget?

3. thekraft

thekraft New Member

And what are you using the computer for? Btw, the Windtunnel is hot as hell. One of my friends has it, and it looks awesome.

4. ldaggerl

ldaggerl New Member

Not only that but what resolution is your monitor?

5. Stilgar1973

Stilgar1973 New Member

If by awesome you mean completely gay then yeah I would have to agree.

Bottom line with that case:
    1. If you got those fans on it is gonna be louder and more bothersome then other cases. Can't get around that.
    2. You really only need that much fan power if you are: A) running dual video cards B) running in a hot room with no possibility of AC or C) running the computer in a tight enclosure (in this case those fans may still not be enough).

But, if your PC has one video card in it and is sitting somewhere where airflow really isn't a problem and the room never really gets too hot then you will never need those fans.