Making a hard drive image?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Automatic Ellipse, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. Automatic Ellipse

    Automatic Ellipse omgwtfchknsndwch! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    I need to know what is the best prog for making a hard drive image. Any help would be great.

    :squint:
     
  2. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    ghost is pretty good from what I hear.
     
  3. Automatic Ellipse

    Automatic Ellipse omgwtfchknsndwch! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    so I have kinda heard too!
     
  4. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Just make sure you have another hard drive to put it on.
     
  5. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    You did not say what OS. OS X comes with built-in disk tools to create and restore images.
     
  6. EvanD

    EvanD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,727
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Ghost works for me
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ

    There is a MAC forum here and this isn't it, so I'm assuming the poster is running Windows.

    Ditto on Ghost.
     
  8. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I use Paragon. I boot to the CD, it loads a Linux shell with a GUI and it recognizes USB on boot. Ghost has failed more times than I can mentinon when going from a drive to an identical drive on the same cable, and with 2 different versions to boot. Symantec was no help. I'm glad other people have better luck!
     

Share This Page