Major Regarding Computers, im desperate for help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kin, Jan 8, 2003.

1. kin

kin Guest

Ok, well im a student @ UNC Charlotte, & I've looked at the job market. Full knowing that i want a job regarding computers somehow i took ITCS & discovered that i didnt like working w/ programming languages & software. I took Cisco's 4 semester course, & on my way to be a CCNA. What other kinds of majors regarding computers are out there for Hardware, networking, & etc. Do u think that working for Cisco would be a bad idea?

2. Toaster

Toaster Guest

trust me you wont be working for cisco with a ccna.

3. DatacomGuy

DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

4. kin

kin Guest

no fellas, im going to get my CCNA, but i will work on CCNP or CCIE in the future, just wondering if its a good field to go into (good $$ & Stable) what major should i do in college to help me with getting a job there.

5. Dommi

Dommi Guest

you probably wont get a chance to take the practical for your ccie without major corporate sponsorship

6. Toaster

Toaster Guest

the ccie practical is $1200 , my co-worker just passed. the level of difficulty from a CCNA to a CCIE is so huge , it would take years for you to get to that level.

7. crontab

crontab (uid = 0)

Plus one will NEVER know what industry is "good $$ & stable". For instance, who would've thought that computers, initially a hobby-ist's activity, would become a trillion dollar industry?

Just do your best, work hard, work smart.

-crontab -l

8. Dommi

Dommi Guest

:rant:
    except when the hiring trends are down by 44 percent

9. kin

kin Guest

The one question i have regarding all of this is, what major do i pursue in college pertaining to Cisco-like criteria.

10. Dommi

Dommi Guest

something engineering related
    not sure but maybe EE

11. DatacomGuy

Isn't there a network engineering degree?

12. Dommi

Dommi Guest

13. Jabberwocky

Jabberwocky 06 08 33 35 36