Magnets + HDDs

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Zourn, Sep 3, 2003.

  1. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Do Magnets kill HDD's, as in never work again? or do they just erase all the data of them?
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    from what i have done, it just corrupts the data, and they have to be high powered at that (like the magnets that are inside the hdd to move the head).

    i'd get fucked up things with filenames, fucked up data, unable to read a sector and so on.

    ive tried it at my old place of work, and once u re-format it, (reset everything to 00 or 0F) they seem to work fine.

    anyone else try this?
     
  3. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, I was playing with this REALLY high-powered magnet, strong enough to let you know where studs are in the wall by the nails, and I thought, Hmmm, I just backed-up everything on my Laptop, I wonder if this will kill all the data. I held it near the Lapotp and it made a click sound. so I turned it on and, Voila!, no OS.
    So I pop-in the Redhat Install CD and it never fully loads, nor will the Knoppix Bootable CD. It starts just never finishes. Did I royally F*ck up?
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Sounds like a royal fuck up to me. The magnets might have done damage to other components of the system besides the HD. :dunno:
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Magents are usueful if you INTEND to use them, otherwise they can do more harm than good.
     
  6. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    well, isn't this craptastic, went to remove the HDD and I can't find that particular Screwdriver, so I figure I'll go to the new computer place I just found. I'm standing in front of the door and it says, "Closed, Open Tue-Fri 10-6" and it was 11 dammit.
    BTW, the Bios sees the HDD, and so does the start-up prompt of both knoppix and RedHat, but the can't fully load their GUI's. RAM problem maybe? I'll check it while I'm in there.
     
  7. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    It WAS intentional, it just didn't do what I intended.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    They're used for quickly destroying your "unusual" taste for porn as the feds pound your door down - not for casually erasing data.
     
  9. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    :rofl: Very well put.
     
  10. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Lucky me :) it was the HDD and nothing else. Picked up a 10G at the local shop for $60. (Might get a job too!)
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If it was only the HD then why wouldn't knoppix load?
     
  12. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No clue :dunno:, prolly because it was trying to mount the drive and would have an unrecoverable error. But I took the drive out and Knoppix booted fine with no HDD installed. So :dunno:?
     
  13. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Huh, :cool:. But you are out $60.
     
  14. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Out $60 and 30 Gigs, the HDD that was in there was a 40, and the guy only had 10's in stock.

    The guy I talked to said that if i worked for him he'd give me $75 for each computer I build with the parts he supplies me (brand new), and that for the past 6 weeks he's been doing about 3 builds a day. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2003

Share This Page