MAF vs. MAP - Turboing an NA Car

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Kroze, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Kroze

Kroze Active Member

I'm a noob at this and wanted some insight. If you were to turbo an Non-Turbo car that's using MAF system, will you have stalling issues since it doesn't compensate for elevation & temperature differences? How can you fix this?

I read this from another forum and got confused.

Piggyback fuel unit. It poses problems such as having to manually compensate for temperature, and altitude changes. I for one went the standalone route with my MAS based car and had a local SoCal tuner take care of that. On my MAP based turbo car, it was tuned with a SFMU, EGT, and Wideband. To this day it makes good/usable power without any issues, or having to constantly fidgit with fuel pressure or rise rate.

2. Kenny Powers

Kenny Powers OT Supporter

wat?

not that i've done it, but i can't see why you'd have stalling issues

3. Bugalu

Bugalu OT Supporter

the ecu has sensors for temperature and elevation, so the car will automaticaly correct for these.

put the maf before the turbo and make sure you arnt maxing it out, get it tuned, and you will be good to go.

4. alltracman78

alltracman78 New Member

The piggyback intercepts some of these signals and modifies them.
    If you get rid of the MAF [you're probably going to max it out anyways] and use a MAP sensor you'll need to add a intake temp sensor [most times the intake temp is part of the MAF sensor].
    The PCM should still be able to read elevation however, it's normally not measured via the MAF sensor.
    You can't run a nonturbo car with a turbo without adding some kind of piggyback or stand alone to manage the extra fuel, it's normally more than the stock PCM can handle.

What engine/car is it?

5. Bugalu

Bugalu OT Supporter