macbook hard drive question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fukijama1, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    those of you that have upgraded your macbook hard drive and have applecare warranty. has apple given you a hard time about it when sending it for repairs. i talked to apple and said they will fix it the laptop if the hard drive isnt the case for the problem. so im just curious. thanks
     
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    They shouldn't give you any problems as long as the hard drive isn't the issue. Just like modifying cars, they honor the warranty unless they can prove that the modification that you made is directly related to the cause of the issue.
     
  3. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    :werd:

    As long as the hard drive isn't the issue, you're covered.
     
  4. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    like the others said once you remove the stock drive the new hard drive is no longer in warrantybut the rest of the macbook is, the same with memory (unless you get it from a certified supplier like Crucial) but the Good news is that most hard drives have longer warranties then apple has.
     
  5. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    but would i need to put the original back in if i would have to send it in for any reason?
     
  6. FEELSGOODMEN

    FEELSGOODMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ca
    i would put the original back in anyway.

    is your macbook jacked up?
     
  7. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    no..its not jacked up just thinking about putting a new 120gb into the mac or use as external.
     
  8. FEELSGOODMEN

    FEELSGOODMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ca
    go for it. i just put a 320 in my macbook last week and 4 gigs of ram :)
     
  9. FEELSGOODMEN

    FEELSGOODMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ca
    much faster now.

    VMware fusion runs like a dream.
     
  10. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    You dont have to put it back in at all. They really don't care.

    But don't expect them to fix any problems with the drive.
     
  11. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so would you all change the 60gb for a 120gb or just use the the 120gb as an external. im kinda unsure what to do. thanks
     
  12. FEELSGOODMEN

    FEELSGOODMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ca
    well it depends. if you use your laptop on the move, it would make sense to put the larger drive in. if you're real lazy and keep your computer on a desk all of the time use the external.
     
  13. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    Do the internal, I have a 120 in my laptop, and thought "ehh an external will be fine if it's powered by the USB bus"...

    I wish I would have sucked it up and put a 250 in my comp. I still might.
     

Share This Page