mac/windows VMware fusion

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fukijama1, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok plan to upgrade my hard drive in my macbook 1.83ghz which has a 60gb to a 160gb. few questions
    1. does this void applecare?
    2. can you do a complete restore using time machine . so everything is that same as the 60gb but on the 160gb
    3. whats the max size (GB) that will fit in the macbook
    4. can Vmware boot windows xp? or does it just run windows in osx
    5. and macbooks use SATA right?
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2008
  2. adelacruz

    adelacruz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, Florida.
    1. It can but just revert to the 60 if you need to send it back into applecare
    2. You'd have to have both harddrives hooked up to the computer somehow.
    3. As big a 2.5 as you can buy
    4. why would you want vmware to boot xp? thats what bootcamp is for but no it cant either way.
     
  3. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i have a time machine backup on an external 120gb wd passport. if i loaded a new 160gb can i install leopard and restore from time machine?
     
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    5. yes they are SATA notebook drives.
     
  5. adelacruz

    adelacruz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, Florida.
    it should work, i dont see why it wouldnt, worse comes to worse just pass over the important docs and reinstall apps.
     

Share This Page