Mac Startup Sound

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Teddieedd1e, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Teddieedd1e

    Teddieedd1e ---------- OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SD, CA
    Has anyone muted it? If so, what program do you use?
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i think you can mute it just by having your volume control on mute before you reset

    or plug in some headphones
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    quick question...
    why did you shutdown your mac in the first place?
     
  5. Teddieedd1e

    Teddieedd1e ---------- OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SD, CA
    Thanks for the helps. And to your question Raider007, I'm using my desktop right now. I don't have anything on my MBP yet and not gonna do anything to it until I get the Leopard OSX.
     
  6. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    i havent shut mine down in over a month im sure
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    i shut down my laptop each time I use it to save battery life...:dunno:
     
  8. nokom

    nokom New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would never disable my apple chime. the chime is telling you there are no hardware problems. when there is no chime... you have hardware failure.
     
  9. Emanon

    Emanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Putting it to sleep really REALLY slowly drains battery. No need to turn your machine all the way off unless you won't be using it for a couple days IMO.

    Of course everyone has their own quirks.
     
  10. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    if you close the lid, the battery drain is so slow you can open it back up over a week later and still use it...
    no reason to shut down laptops unless you're not going to use it for 10+ days...
     
  11. Reaver2218

    Reaver2218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I wish there was a program out there that when You turn your Mac on it gives you a greeting Like "Good Morning Dave" in Independence Day with Will Smith.
     
  12. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    You could change the startup screen in OS 7, 8, & 9 like they had on Independence Day.
     
  13. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    I'd do that, but it'd creep me out. :o



    Then it'd go "I'm sorry Dave, I can't do that." :noes:
     

Share This Page