Mac re-noob questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jonny Chimpo, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,771
    Likes Received:
    378
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    two quick questions because I haven't used a Mac in years...

    1. I have an external HD that I sometimes use with PC's, is there any way to hide the Windows system files (like thumbs.db) when using it on the Mac?

    2. What's the best utility to rip a DVD to my HD for playback?
     
  2. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    2. Mac the Ripper
     
  3. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,659
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
    1) No good way that I know of.

    2) Handbrake or Mac The Ripper.
     
  4. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you'd see the .db files on a mac.
     
  5. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Yea, I think the OS is set to hid them in general.
     
  6. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    also how do you install firefox:hs:...I though Installed it correctly but it disappeared from my toolbar..well there's a question mark where the firefox icon used to be:o
    help:x:
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    you double click the installer file? :dunno:

    if you attempted to install it already, delete anything you've done and start over. drag the firefox icon in the dock to the trash, find firefox in your appliations folder and drag it to the trash, spotlight search for mozilla and delete the org.mozilla.firefox.plist file. empty trash and start over.
     
  8. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    Cool, i'll try it tomorrow morning...i'm on my pc:o :mamoru:
     
  9. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,771
    Likes Received:
    378
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    No, they are definitely visible.
     
  10. mrbiiggy

    mrbiiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    1. just format the drive hfs or live with those files being visible
    2. mactheripper/0sex

    about the firefox thing... firefox is distributed with the raw application on a disk image, you need to copy that to /Applications and run it from there, you no doubt added it to your dock from the disk image. also, there are g5 and g4 optimized firefox builds that offer great speed improvements
     

Share This Page