mac ram vs. crucial ram upgrade

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by weazl, Jul 3, 2005.

  1. weazl

    weazl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    im looking to go from 512 to 2 gig of ram and im looking at either crucial or mac ram. i was wondering what the differences are other than price
     
  2. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
    Pretty much nothing. As long as the memory from crucial is compatible, it'll work just as well as the apple ram.
     
  3. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    whts the best kind of ram to get, or rather best value?
     
  4. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    Crucial makes Apple RAM that goes to Apple and gets tested. That is the difference in hundreds of dollars.
     
  5. asshole

    asshole dont eat yellow snow! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    everywhere..everyone has an asshole
    The company to get cheapo ram is macsales.com OWC runs great sales on ram all the time for macs. For the most part any ram will work in the newer macs. Its just the older macs that dont take pc ram well.
     
  6. asiandoood

    asiandoood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    im running Kingston RAM right now in my G5. you just have to make sure the specs are the same, there should be no problems.
     
  7. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    hynix ram came in my powerbook, not crucial
    i put a 1gig chip of kingston in it and havent had a single problem with it
     
  8. JustSurvive

    JustSurvive New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greendale, CA
    Go with Crucial, it's cheaper.
     
  9. weazl

    weazl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    If I'm not mistaken, Apple uses Crucial as it's primary supplier. So to answer your question, nothing.

    Crucial isn't bad memory. And I'd rather see you get that than a generic stick. However, (from selling many different brands) I have found corsair to be more reliable, and consierably more compatible than crucial. I would highly recommend Corsair ValueSelect to most people. It comes in at around the same price, if not cheaper, than Crucial, anyway.
     
  11. coachrapture

    coachrapture New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Burgh
    I believe, Samsung is the oem ram for apple. As for crucial, I just put in 1.5 gb of ram from crucial and it works like a charm. You don't need buy the apple-specific ram crucial suggests through their system matchup. Just buy the ram they make with the exact same specs. for the 1gb of ram, the apple suggested ram was 200 where the ram with the same specs was 130. I've been using crucial for years and have never had a problem. I'm running a 15" 1.33ghz powerbook if that info helps you out any.
     

Share This Page