Mac pro vs. MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rusbrmasas, Jan 8, 2008.

1. rusbrmasas

rusbrmasas New Member

Hi,

I am in the market for a new Mac (and am waiting to see what Macworld 2008 has to offer).

I am kind of stuck between the top of line 15" MacBook Pro and the base configuration for a Mac Pro (both of which run for $2799 CAN).

I am currently using a 12" Powerbook G4 that is about 3 years old, and part of me likes the option of being able to take my machine with me when I am on the go. However, I just purchased an iPod Touch, which allows me to do many of the things I would do on my laptop when I on the go (listen to music, watch movies, read articles via Google Reader, check my email).

I like the expandability of a Mac Pro but also like having the portability of a laptop. Also, I should mention that I am a MSc student in Computer Graphics, so graphics performance is a big factor for me when purchasing a new system.

Wondering what your thoughts on the situation are?

Thanks.

2. Pineapple Devil

Pineapple Devil beat it!

after owning a powerbook and realizing i dont use it as a laptop all that often id buy a mac pro the second time around.

especially if you already have a laptop that will get things done

3. eighteen_psi

eighteen_psi Active Member

My biggest problem with the MBP is RAM. CPU and video wise it's plenty serious enough for most tasks but 4GB would strangle a lot of my work :( Not to say you can't get a lot done with 4 but I page on my Mac Pro and G5 with 8GB sometimes. Doing animation and such at HD+ resolution is a killer. Just something to consider, depending on your app. of choice.

4. xenon supra

xenon supra OT Supporter

Mac Pro - so many options for expansion. It will last much much longer. :bigok:

5. DouggieJ

DouggieJ OT Supporter