Mac Pro processor question. V Is it really necessary to go the 8 core route?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ghostrider4450, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Im not sure its completely necessary to go with 8 cores (versus 4) with the Mac Pro right now. What do you guys think?
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    really depends on what you use it for. About 95% of programs will not use 8 cores, hell most won't use 4.
     
  3. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    I do alot of HD (1080i) video editing, sound processing and design then burning said media onto DVDs. Then I would have Boot Camp on its own HDD and run Windows XP/Vista for gaming.
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    If you use Final Cut, I am pretty sure it is optimized for 8cores.
     
  5. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Yeah, I was wondering that myself. I just don't see the need to spend the extra $450 on another processor.
     
  6. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    No it isn't nessecary. There are benefits to it, that can be very clear if you research and know how you will work, but you may not ever see benefits that you would deem worth $500. Most people will probably buy an 8 core system because they feel it offers the best value for money and they feel they are future proofing their purchase.
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    umm... aren't all the Mac Pro's 8 core now by default?
    and FC Studio will use the 8 cores...
     
  8. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    default yes, but you can still opt for the 4 core.
     
  9. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    huh, didn't know that.
     
  10. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Yeah, so you could either save $450, or use that money for HDDs/RAM/GFX Cards.
     

Share This Page