Mac Network question????

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Achance007, May 12, 2003.

  1. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I'm using OS 9.2 and I set up a web server to transfer some pictures and files to my brother on a PC. But the problem i'm having is that I can not find my IP address. I have a cable modem and a router. And the only IP address that I can find is the generic IP that the router assigns to the computer http://192.168.0.101/
    I know using a PC you can run IPconfig to find out the computer's real IP # but how do you do that with a mac. I haven't used this computer in 2yrs and I forgot.

    I went into the router's setting and I didn't see it there. I saw the tab for DMZ so I set that up to my mac's generic IP address but that doesn't do any good, if I can't figure out the real IP
     
  2. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. TurboDerek

    TurboDerek My favorite meal is horsemeat and rice.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Bernardino
    apple menu - control panels - TCP/IP
     
  4. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    i figured out my problem. Under the router settings I had to create a virtual server and use my mac generic IP as the server address. And then direct my brother to use my router's IP # to connect. So now when he tries to connect to my router he will directed to my MAC.
     
  5. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    And that didn't work, that just shows the generic IP # that my router assigned my mac. That was the only thing I remembered how to do with the mac.
     
  6. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    which IS your ip address. Unless you are manually binding additional static addresses to the same network interface, but in that case, you would know what those ips were.

    Is your bro outside, or inside your home network?
     
  8. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    he is outside the network. I figured it out. I just had to set up a virtual server.
     

Share This Page