Mac Mini Questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RyRy, May 6, 2009.

  1. RyRy

    RyRy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Margaritaville
    I'm moving from a 3 bedroom farm house to a studio apartment within the next couple of weeks so I need to save all the space I can! I was thinking of buying a Mac Mini, wireless keyboard/mouse, and getting a 37-42" TV for my computer since I need a new TV anyway. Just wondering if this can be done? How well the setup would work? What connections would the TV have to have? Or would I be better off just getting a MacBook again? I'm just wanting something for using iWorks, web surfing and that's about it. Thanks in advance :wavey:

    As far as TV's go these are the ones I'm considering (if it's any help in explaining this to me)

    http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=10929989
    http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=10778775
    http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=9188651
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    tv would need dvi input
     
  3. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Or HDMI... you can get a DVI-HDMI adapter cable.
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    :werd:
    forgot that detail
     
  5. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use a new mac mini with my samsung HDTV, which has a VGA input.

    i put 4GB of RAM in it, and it works great. i recommend making the screen fonts and icons their max size, and forcing firefox to display bigger fonts.

    i HIGHLY recommend using BOXEE with this setup!

    i use iPhone apps to control it (rather than the mouse), all of which work over WiFi.
    -iTunes Remote (great for itunes)
    -RemotePad (multitouch mouse + keyboard)
    -RowMote (looks like the apple remote, but has built-in profiles for lots of apps, and you don't have to point a remote at anything)
    -Boxee Remote (great for boxee)
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    its a bit of a pain being productive on a tv. if you want a computer and not a toy go for a macbook/imac.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you can also do dvi to vga
     
  8. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    which is completely stupid, no offense. Why would you take a nice clean digital signal only to throw it through the crap called analog when he's looking to get a new TV anyways that *should* have either a DVI or HDMI input?

    Double check the resolutions the TV will do or the screen will look like crap. My cousin went this route and got a Vizio Plasma 50" but the resolution isn't great so his mac mini displays either a very small and clear resolution or a large, disproportioned and unclear resolution. A better resolution on a TV will yield better results.
     
  9. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    because some tvs only have a vga input and when you attempt to hook it up through hdmi, it will look messed up because it can't handle the resolution

    obviously the best way to go is with dvi, but how many tvs have you seen recently that have dvi? then again you can go dvi to hdmi
     
  11. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've seen more TV's as of recently that have DVI than I have VGA. But if you saw the TV's he linked to in his original post, you would have noticed that all of them have at least an HDMI input, hence my comment.
     
  12. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    That remotepad looks badass, great find :h5:
     
  13. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't know about remotepad, but airmouse is tits. same concept I assume, but its fucking :bowdown:
     

Share This Page