Mac Mini as a HTPC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chris, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    How would the standard Mac Mini (with external storage, obviously) do as a Home Theater PC? I'm thinking with either a bluetooth keyboard and mouse or may a Harmony remote it would be pretty sweet. Is there anything Im not thinking about?
     
  2. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've got that exact setup at my house, works really well.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    orly?

    how do you have the audio?
     
  4. Shinsei Ryu

    Shinsei Ryu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Used to use my macbook as an htpc. I would boot into windows and play h.264 mkvs (using CoreAVC codec). I setup my harmony with the mb but you're still limited to the few buttons that the macbook remote has. The macbook headphone jack also has optical line out built into it so I ran that to my receiver.
     
  5. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    i always wanted to know if it will output 1080p
     
  6. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    interested in this
     
  7. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  8. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i don't know if you have a lot of random video, but i think you'd have to do a lot of video reformatting in order to get them to work in front row.

    visualhub, btw, is great for this, but i think the mini might take a long time to do large files.

    the only other drawback that i can think of is that if you want to watch netflix on demand, mac's not supported :)

    other than that, go go go
     
  9. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    no, no netflix, I dumped them back in the day when they started throttling me

    Blockbuster online with unlimited in-store exchanges FTW

    and pretty much all of the stuff I would want to watch are divx or xvid .avi's
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    its easy to get avi's in front row :p just make sure you have the codec installed and put them in your movies folder (or a symlink to them if they are on a storage/network drive)
     
  11. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I just use the Mini's analog out to my reciever, I do most of my DVD watching on my XBox360 (HDMI upconvert) so I don't need the SPDIF. The analog output on Macs are very clean.

    I run mine at 1920x1080 on my Toshiba 1080p LCD. Works great, me and the GF watch Youtube flicks on there all the time. I need to do more bittorrent to make a little more use of it, but it's great for what I use it for.
     
  12. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i've been slowly "cleaning" my video collection since i got my MBP. i have tons of random AVI's from years ago that were encoded with god-knows-what. some work, some don't work, some kinda work.

    i've just been using visualhub to wash everything in new h.264 goodness.
     
  13. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    my dad just tried to use his as an htpc, but its an older g4... it didnt work going to hdmi... no digital output
     
  14. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,643
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
  15. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland
    do you guys actually have a capture card?
     

Share This Page