Mac "buying guide"

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TenSteel, Apr 19, 2005.

1. TenSteel

TenSteel Ted Cruz suicide hotline OT Supporter

Ok, so here's my situation:

In about a year, I will be starting on the classes for pre-med. I also plan on getting an iPod and an iPod shuffle eventually (once the rumored "new models" come out in August of this year) for my music collection. Right now, I mostly use my computer (4 year old PC) for web browsing, e-mail, and some light photoshop work. Before I start the pre-med classes, I want to get a new Mac for here at home and a laptop for taking notes and such at school, since I can type faster than I can write. And God knows how many notes I'll be taking in the pre-med classes :p

So what do you folks recommend? I'm thinking an 80gb Mac Mini and an iBook would suit my needs without breaking the bank too badly. My monitor is a 19" KDS which still works fine, so a monitor isn't an issue right now. I am a student, so I can get the student discount at the Apple stores.

Your thoughts?

2. urban ape

urban ape take that take that take that

i say do it. the mac mini will be a perfect workstation for notes/presentations/internet/email/digital media...

as for the iBook, i have a 12" 1.2Ghz G4 w/ 768RAM that i take to class and take all my notes on (fits perfectly on the desks).

so yeah, for the price, you should be a happy camper for several years to come.

3. Devoidarex

Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

Sounds perfect for your needs.

Beware the Apple upgrade army that lurks in this forum. They will do their best to convince you to buy a 17" G5 powerbook and a dual G5 tower with 30" cinema display. They will try to tell you that you will not be able to live without these items.

However, the iBook and the Mini will provide you with all the processing power you need for what you want to do, at the lowest price.

4. TurboDerek

TurboDerek My favorite meal is horsemeat and rice.