Mac Address...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SantorinA4, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    Is there any way to get rid of a mac address permanently? I've got a IBM A21m that we are trying to get the mac address off of. Can any of you help with that or is it not possible at all?

    TIA
     
  2. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,078
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    WHY?!

    you cant take the mac address off of anything. its there for a purpose. if you got caught doing something, then you need to just go buy a new piece of hardware and 'change' your mac address
     
  3. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have no idae what you are trying to do. You can fake another MAC address, yes.
     
  4. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    It's an old work laptop and they were given away and we just wanted to get the old mac address off of it. We just want to know if it can be done. No biggie though.
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    get a new NIC card :bowdown:
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If you are really that paranoid the best way to get rid of a mac address is with a hammer.

    But honestly, there is nothing that someone can do if they get the mac address of that NIC.
     
  7. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    Okay cool. I'll get a new NIC card. Thanks guys.
     
  8. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    MAC addresses are kinda like IP addresses (in simplistic terms). But the address is is encoded in some flavor of a ROM (EPROM, etc) on the NIC. Back in the old days, the ideas was you could get a chip puller and swap the PROMs out. The MAC addresses are supposed to be unique, but I've been told some of the dirt cheap NICs will be made with the same MAC address (saves the company money having to get new MAC address ranges). On newer cards its possible to use the NIC's utilities to change the MAC address. I've got some cheap-o DLINK cards that have the ability of changing the MAC address. I'm not sure why you're itching to swap the MAC out, but research the NIC the notebook is using. And if you can't find anything, then find another NIC.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl::rofl:

    RIiiiiight.

    As everyone else said.. throw it in the garbage and buy another. If it's an onboard NIC, then uninstall it and disable it in device manager and buy a new PCMCIA card.
     
  10. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    I don't want to throw it in the trash. It's a really good computer. I just don't want my work name all over my personal computer. Here at work that give them as prizes when they get the next best thing in the computer world. DatacomGuy, you don't have to believe me if you don't want to, but I'm just picky like that. I want it to be all mine. :)
     
  11. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    :: lurks around::: Big brother is watching youuuuu ::lurks back into the shadows:::




    :nuts:
     
  12. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    :nuts: Me? Probably so.
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Read my reply a little closer.

    THROW THE NIC in the garbage.. if you don't want to throw the NIC away, then take it out and put it on the shelf.

    If it's on-board, then uninstall and disable..
     
  14. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    Now I got what you said. Sorry having a very bad (sad) day.
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    No worries. Hope your day goes better.
     
  16. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    Thanks man.
     
  17. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Wait, why are we throwing the NIC away again? The MAC address has no personal info at all. Send it over this way if you are going to get rid of it.
     
  18. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 Guest

    Will do Rob, once I get a new one. :)
     
  19. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    is there a way to get mac address with php or jsp ?
     
  20. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    If your scripts can call arp if it exists on the machine that's you're running it off of.

    -crontab -l
     
  21. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i am not sure what you mean but i meant to say like if you have a webpage and random people access your page, can u get their mac address for like login/pass purpos? hehe
     
  22. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    sell the NIC on eBay
     
  23. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Nope. ARP only works on local networks I belive.
     

Share This Page