m3's reliable?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by thisgsx, Jun 9, 2005.

1. thisgsx

thisgsx New Member

Im thinking about purchasing a m3 (94-99) I was wondering if they're reliable? I wouldnt mind the newer ones, but Im still attached to the looks of the older ones.

2. someguy

someguy WWMD?

Generally, yes.

There are problem areas that you may want to research before buying. I'm not an expert, so I wouldn't want to give you extensive advice. Make sure you have the car checked out by someone who knows what they are doing to avoid a problem car.

3. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

from bmw owners I've spoken with, they are fairly reliable day-to-day. However, when something does break, it is VERY expensive to have fixed if you don't do it yourself.

4. m3m750

m3m750 Kickin' it old school

I've had good luck with my 97. I've putt 100,000 miles on it and other than basic maintenance, have done the brakes, the clutch, and I had an issue with the passenger seat airbag sensor. Oh, and I replaced the head unit.

5. thisgsx

thisgsx New Member

Cool. I just registered at m3forums, hopefully I'll find all the answers there. I've read somewhere a while back that m3's tend to have a lot of electrical problems, is that true? Oh and Im coming from the dsm world, so I'm kind of tired of having to fix a problem one after another.

6. Jetta Dex

Jetta Dex Guest

they'll definitely be more reliable than a DSM. if i remember correctly, the 97 model year is supposed to be one of the most reliable of the E36 M3's. pretty much any german car is going to have electrical problems. sign up for the bimmer forums.

7. strangerthanfiction

strangerthanfiction New Member

http://bimmer.roadfly.com/bmw/forums/e36m3/

The S52 powerplant is rock solid. period. Also, down the road you can go the FI route, that motor takes well to modding. In particular the 95 OBDI....

The car has its quirks just like anything else...

best place to go for info: