Low FPS in Halo

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ivy Mike, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    My system has always had trouble running Halo at a decent framerate while other games (like Half-Life and its mods) run quite smoothly.
    I'm just kind of curious, is Halo really that much of a resource hog or is it just a really shitty port?
     
  2. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed
    shitty port
     
  3. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    what a fucking shame.
    The game is actually a lot of fun.
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    What are your specs? Also what game settings?

    Even with an AMD XP 1800+, 1GB of PC2100 RAM and a 5700LE 256MB, I still got good framerates.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
  5. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I think its probably just my video card.
    I'm using an old GeForce2 MX with 64mb of vram. Now, Halo only requires a 32mb vid card, but I still think it may not be enough.

    Other specs are Athlon 64 3200+ with 1gb of DDR400 ram and 74gb SATA drive (as primary drive with an 80gb drive just for extra junk. Halo is on the SATA)
    board is an nForce3 board.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd just buy a used copy of Halo for the Xbox if you like it that much. In fact, I DID buy one.
     
  7. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I don't have an xbox.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. Well, you could probably get a used XBox too, for the money it would take to buff your computer to the point that Halo will run "well" on it.
     
  9. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Not into console games.
    It would probably be better to just buy a better video card and play other games.
    My machine is certainly fast enough to run it.
     
  10. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Very shitty port.
     
  11. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    was it taken from xbox?
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Halo is a good game. My favorite mode is co-op, and the PC version doesn't have that. I bought an XBox just to play it again after my roommate graduated and moved back to NYC.
     
  13. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Not sure I beat it for PC when It came out...I remember doing all these tweaks and finally breaking like 25fps :hsugh:
     

Share This Page