SRS Losing my job, girlfriend left to south carolina, fear of going back to Japan

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by ChronoGN, Nov 24, 2008.

1. ChronoGN

ChronoGN Party Kid

I am at a point in my life where whatever I decide to do right now will have a major impact on my future.

I moved to the U.S. when I was 7 years old. I grew up in the states, this is all I know. I got back to Japan once every year or two to see my family but I sit around bored most of the time when I am there because I don't know anyone there. I don't mind visiting Japan but I would never want to live there.

But the problem is, I don't have a green card or a U.S. citizen ship. I've been under my dad's B1 Visa till I graduated High School then I switched to a F1 student Visa and went to Michigan State University for four years.
    Now that I graduated college, I am supposed to go back. But I found a loop hole by getting an OPT (Optional Practical Training) which is a work permit that will allow me to stay in the U.S. as long as I have a job related to my major for a year. After a year, I'm supposed to leave the U.S.

Right now I am working for a major Japanese Automotive Supplier as an intern. But because of the Auto Industry going to shit, they are probably going to let me go after my intern is over (About 2 months ago, they told me they have a position for me after my intern was over. Now the time has changed and they are not allowed to hire anyone anymore.) So, I'm going to lose my job before the holidays. Without a job, I gotta go back to Japan.

Now, I have an option to marry my gf to get a green card. Would it really be worth it to get married for that though? I love my gf but I don't really want to get married yet. I'm only 22. And she just recently dropped out of college because she can't afford it, went active duty in the Army for the pay, and moved down to South Carolina. She is financially unstable and marrying her can be a big disaster.