Loose shifter question

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by 4W4K3, Aug 9, 2007.

1. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

I've got an 86' MR2 with a lot of miles, 5-speed. Recently I got to toy around in some higher HP cars and I was most impressed with how tight the shifting was and how smooth it felt. Getting back in my MR2 felt like I was shifting through a bucket of nails :wtc:

I'll be ordering a short shifter kit tomorrow, shifter lowering plate, shifter base bushings, and brass shift cable bushings.

Is there anything else I should look at replacing? Is it possible my shift cable itself is jacked up? Any way to tell? I'm a car novice for the most part so obvious things tend to slip by me.

2. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

Make that tonight, just ordered everything :p Does anyone know of an online vendor for Toyota shift cables, specifically MKI MR2's?

3. arse

arse New Member

you are a car novice but you want to rebuild your transmission?

4. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

Rebuild my tranny? Where did I say that?

I'm just installing a short shift kit and replacing cable bushings. I've no intention to work on the actual transmission unless it gives out, in which case I have a spare c56 sitting in my garage I'd have to pay a friend to swap in because I've never done it.

I've installed a CAI/RAI on my car, installed newer gen taillights, swapped headlight housings (H7 conversion), flushed my coolant system, and done basic maintenance to my car. Nothing advanced, which is why I still think I am a novice.

5. Kroze

Kroze Active Member

i have a 06 civic, after the shifter bushing, short shifter, and weighted shift knob installed the car is amazing to drive. everytime i shift it just feel crisp clean and extremly precise. no comparison to stock at all. i can't imagine for an old car like yours it's going to feel like heaven.

6. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member