looking to reinstall leopard, not sure how to backup first

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, May 25, 2008.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i'm thinking about doing a reinstall of leopard soon. i really don't have any reason to, other than my c2d 2ghz macbook taking close to a minute to boot

    i originally did a an upgrade install.

    i have copies of all my apple programs and documents on my server. my settings within leopard is what might need to be addressed.

    i have superduper, would that save my leopard settings? also, i don't have a firewire drive, only usb
     
  2. inkblot78

    inkblot78 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you talking 100% fresh install (as in reinstalling everything), or a reinstall then copying everything over from a backup using Migration Assistant?
     
  3. tekmode

    tekmode Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    102,711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    just use time machine, it backs up everything including settings
     
  4. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I've always used Carbon Copy Cloner. It will copy the drive exactly as an identical replica. But with out a firewire drive, it's useless because you could use the firewire drive to boot from, then re-copy it back over to the original. If you've got a Time Machine backup, you can use that as well
     
  5. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    Time Machine or Super Duper
     

Share This Page