Looking to build a computer and I need help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mjbjhu, Nov 9, 2006.

1. mjbjhu

mjbjhu Because it's your dog...

Like the title says, I am looking to build my first ever computer. I have some knowledge of computers, but not a bunch. I would like to set up the computer to run flight simulator software, but I don't want to get too expensive.

I am in no rush to build the computer so I don't mind waiting a bit for deals or specials, and I am not opposed to buying some piece of technology that is slightly older to save some money (assuming of course that it is still current technology and usable on my system).

Does anyone have any tutorials, online resources, or anything that I can read to familiarize myself with the terminology and process? Any help would be appreciated.

2. mjbjhu

bump, anyone help a brother out?

3. negative zero

negative zero New Member

I saw a tutorial the other day but forgot where it was. :hs:

Just search here a few pages back. there have been several threads on component suggestions.
    It's easy to put it all together. Just post a budget and you will get suggestions.

4. mjbjhu

Thanks, I'll just try and dig through some back pages

5. negative zero

negative zero New Member

SO are you trying to run a game type flight simulator?
    Search back but I can recommend a C2D 6300 (6400 or 6600 for more $). Probably an Asus p5B (p5b deluxe for more $), 2 GB corsair, etc. RAM.
    Not sure on video card, that's where I'm stumped as well.
    Do you need monitor and everythign or are you reusing some things from another pc?

6. Doc Brown

Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

Yeah, there's a lot of helpful people in this forum ftw.

7. Doc Brown

Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

Here's a guide that I posted in another thread just recently.

It has some decent pics that will help.