Looking for particularized help in building a computer for my simple needs...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by csun, Aug 12, 2007.

  1. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys, its been years since i got a computer so im gonna build another one soon.

    i have a few questions though, but first, id like to say what im actually looking for in the system.

    what i care about:
    cpu
    hard drive (i want a 10k, dont need a big hard drive)

    what i dont care about:
    video card


    id like some recommendations on mobos that have both on board audio and video, 1 gig of memory, etc.

    i have a monitor already and a regular case.

    i dont want to break the bank here. im looking at the e6550. the less expensive the parts, the better.

    so basically i need recommendations on:

    cpu
    hard drive
    mobo
    memory
    psu

    i dont game either.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sounds like you would never overclock anything either.

    I would go with an Intel motherboard.

    I've got one of the 965 chipset boards with onboard video, and it's been great. I ran a video card in it for 5 or 6 months, but now it's my backup computer with just onboard video and it can handle HD video with no problem on a 24" monitor.


    You didn't say if your case is full sized or not, so I'll list an atx board and also a micro atx board.

    ATX board - $112 shipped
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121048

    Micro ATX - $121 shipped.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121086
    That's the one I have. Great board.

    10k drive = Western Digital Raptor.

    Right now the 74gb is around $160 at Newegg, but you can find deals on them from time to time for around $135.

    Memory is cheap now. And there's a million choices.
    But this one would do you fine.
    OCZ 2x 512mb. You don't need more than that if you're not even
    running a dedicated video card.
    $57 shipped
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227082

    The E6550 will do you just fine.

    For power supply, this list is pretty good.
    Power supplies under $150, starting at $72 for the Antec EarthWatts model with 500 watts.

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1460
     
  3. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info! a couple of questions:

    1) the mobo you listed does not supports 1333mhz FSB, any other recommendations?

    2) i had a WD raptor and it funked out on me pretty soon, are there any alternatives?

    3) for curiousity purposes, any other memory recommendations?

    thanks!!!
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Wow, finally Doc recommends a decent mobo. If only we could get you away from the cheap psu and into something nicer......

    It'd be a shame to give a nice intel board a shitty psu. Not nice at all.


    Go get an Sparkle or PCP&C


    Raptors are over-rated. Get a Seagate drive.


    For memory, OCZ is good. However, I almost always recommend Corsair. More reliable (fewer RMAs) and more compatible.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes, the 965p does not support the new intel chips
    get a g33 board, these have onboard video and audio.

    pick one that suits your needs and budget
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&N=2010200280+107172317&name=Intel+G33+series

    funked out on me pretty soon? so is it dead or dying?

    if you really want a 10K rpm drive, your only options are:
    WD Raptors = 16MB cache, SATA interface
    Seagate Cheetah = 8MB cache, SCSI interface
    Fujitsu = 8-16MB cache, SCSI interface
    I believe Hitachi makes one too.

    SCSI is more expensive.

    most high end ram are for gamers. just get a kingston value ram and call it a day.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    kingston memory fucking SUCKS. They buy tier-2 memory and slap their own sticker on it. Corsair at least makes their own and it's tier-1.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    bullshit,... most of Corsair's value series are Samsung chips. Corsair's XMS series are Micron (Crucial) chips.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Corsair uses their own with their own pcb.
    [​IMG]

    kingston takes another companies sticks and slaps their own sticker on it
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    gotta love faggots like you that take apples and try to pass off an orange.


    Kingston ValueRAM was suggested.

    I then said no, and recommended Corsiar -- specifically the ValueSelect line.

    So leave that XMS somewhere else. Get the fuck out of the thread, and stop mis-representing yourself. It's like saying that the Volvo XC90 uses a Yamaha V8 engine (true) and therefore you shouldn't buy the V50 with the whiteblock volvo-designed Inline-5 -- which happens to be a brilliant motor. Because although your statement with regards to a SPECIFIC model may be accurate, it does NOT have a bearing on what is being discussed here.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    idiot, you said no to kingson because they re-label ram and corsair doesn't.
    I called your bullshit claim and there's my proof.
    now stfu because you are wrong
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    I don't think Raptors are quite overrated, but it's not like they are a lot faster than some of the big drives out there.
    But they are enterprise level, or near, and they do carry a 5 year warranty.
    And besides, he said 10k drive.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    As far as scsi drives, I would stay away from them.

    First off, you would need a U320 adaptor card, which would be $75 or so.
    Then you need the scsi cable. And I can't tell you how many scsi cables I've been through over the years that could never manage full U320, or even U160 on an older motherboard/adapter. A big pain in the ass.

    Sata is the best thing that could have happened.

    And if you don't like the Raptors, for the same price range you can get some of the bigger drives that have better throughput.

    This Toms Hardware guide is great. You can compare any drive to any drive. And they have quite a bit in the drop down arrows.

    http://www23.tomshardware.com/storage.html

    You can see that the Hitachi 400gb drives, the WD 160gb drives, and a couple of others are particularly fast. Right up there with the Raptors on some benchmarks.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    SCSI drives are awesome -- even Raptors can't touch their performance -- but they're hot, loud, and usually require an add-on card that adds precious seconds to your bootup time. For a workstation or a server, Serial-Attached-SCSI (SAS) is the only way to go, but for home use SATA is plenty good enough. I have three Raptors in a RAID-3, myself, and that's probably the only reason I can continue to use my old Athlon XP machine on a daily basis.

    Corsair memory is top-notch stuff. OCZ is good too; it's what I have now. I haven't used Kingston memory in years, so I'll stay out of that argument, but I'd feel comfortable using any RAM that uses Samsung chips. Samsung makes something like a third of the RAM and FLASH in the world, anyway.

    As for the ValueSelect marks on the Corsair chips, there's nothing stopping Corsair from penning a contract with a company to have their own logo burned on the chips, so that's pretty much meaningless. Kinda like how Corsair's power supplies are definitely not made by them, but you'll never find a mark to indicate it. (Their PSUs are top-notch too.)
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    As far as Samsung goes, I'd feel comfortable using just about anything from them.

    They're like Panasonic was in the 90's. When everyone thought Sony was such hot shit, Panasonic was slowly but surely owning the consumer ratings of just about everything in sight.
     
  16. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    so here is what i have so far:

    1) cpu - e6550
    2) ram - OCZ pcs 6400
    3) mobo - Intel BOXDG33BUC LGA 775 Intel G33 uATX
    4) psu - ?

    for a hard drive, whats the fastest 7200 rpm HD out there right now? the seagate 3 gb/s? or ? model #s??

    sound good to you guys?
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Make sure the intel board has graphics. I went to their website earlier today, and I don't remember any of the newer boards having onboard graphics. I'm not saying they don't, just make sure.

    For the hard drive, check the Toms Hardware link I posted.

    It's really pretty awesome.
     
  18. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info.

    i checked out the site, but there are so many to choose from and a lot of those tests, to be honest, i dont really know about. for regular use purposes, what would you recommend as being the closest to feeling like a WD raptor 10k?

    in addition, any recs on a PSU that doesnt break the bank?
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sparkle psu won't break the bank.

    Get a seagate sataII
     
  20. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hate to be a stickler, but i have but 2 more questions:

    1) what watt psu would you recommend, keeping cost in mind?

    2) seagate sataII - any particular models tickle your fancy that you could reommend?

    thanks a bunch bud.
     
  21. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    1) 300-400W with >80% efficiency is more than enough for the build.

    2) :ugh: cmon dude,... this is one thing that you need to decide for yourself. how much storage space can you afford?
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    400+ watts sparkle is good.

    get one that is big enough for you :greddy:
     
  23. csun

    csun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0

    im sorry, i didnt mean the actual size of the hard drive, i meant a particular model. for example, i do not want to order model XYZ and then come back here and someone post that model ABC is faster. that is what i was referring to.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no they're all pretty consistant.
     
  25. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    The newer Seagate models are xxx.10. Get one with a 16MB cache.
     

Share This Page