MIL Looking for input about joining

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Yeemix, Sep 19, 2008.

1. Yeemix

Yeemix My Doggah!

First, just wanted to say thanks for your service!

I graduated with a degree in Business with an emphasis on information systems, but this wasn't my calling, just picked a major and went with it. I tried working as a programmer, but after a couple of years I couldn’t stand it anymore. It wasn't fulfilling enough, just another paycheck for me to spend on pointless material things. The only things in my life I found that was actually worth something is my fiancé, my buddies, and my family.

In the end, the military route has come back to me. I’ve considered joining several times in the past, but I was young and lost, and college was less of a commitment so I went with that, but now I feel I wasted the last four years working on a degree I have zero interest in. My fiancé is supportive of whatever choice I make, but she has a career as a mechanical engineer, and it seems selfish for me to join and take her side into account.

I haven’t decided on a path yet, but I was hoping to use my degree to join as an officer. I realize it’s more than just a pay increase, it’s the responsibility as well. I have no problem with responsibility, watching out for those under my command or getting shitted on when someone does something wrong. The only problem is I couldn’t find an area that interested me as an officer, but I found many as an enlisted person that I could enjoy. I have a huge interest in firearms, and I’m a decent shot with most weapons I’ve come across. I would plan on making the military a career, but that’s based on what I currently know about life.

The Air Force is my current first choice in branches, but it depends on where I qualify the best. I’m 26 years old this year, and I think my time to make a choice and grow up is coming soon. Thanks for reading this long winded post, any input is welcomed. Thanks again for all your sacrifices!