A&P Lookin for a new Digital Camera

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ihrs, Mar 24, 2003.

  1. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    Lookin for a new Digital Camera (Bought A70)

    for around $250-350, most of all i want manual control so i can do long exposure shots and whatnot.

    are there any that have a bulb setting, or are most around 15 second or so?

    leaning towards a canon, thanks

    edit, canon a70 or s200?

    a70 is 3mp right
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  2. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Im getting my A70 tomoro, i'll let you know what its like.

    Though take note that im no pro photographer, but i'll try and post some sample pics.
     
  3. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    thanks man, im probly going to wait til the 2nd week of april before i go buy the a70, need a few more paychecks
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I just got my A70 about half hour ago.

    I need to get use to it first, before i take any pics that you can judge it on.

    And you got time to wait anyway.

    Its got a real quality body, feels like all-metal, the front definitly is.
     
  5. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    yea, the only thing i dont like from the looks of it is the handle like thing off to the right side, the grey plastic battery thing
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Ok, ive had a chance to play around with it, it produces great movies :cool:, well, i think the movies are good, but i havent really tried other camera's movie modes.

    Here's a macro shot i took earlier:

    [​IMG]

    original size was 1600x1200

    I had to resize it and reduce quality so that it would fit on otupload.

    It even makes a novice photographer like me take decent pics :dunno:

    Umm, it also lasted a whole 2 days on my rechargeables, which are only 1300mAh, so the battery life with some decent 2000 mAh batteries will kick ass.


    The only things i can warn you about are that you'll need to buy at least a 128mb CF card, and that some pics come out 'soft', apparently canons have low sharpening in the camera, this is both a good thing and a bad thing. It just means you can sharpen the pics to a suitable level outside the cam (photoshop).

    I havent noticed much softness in my pics, others have.

    Its an excellent camera for the price, and i havent even touched the manual options.
     
  7. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
  8. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    oh yea, if im not too tired after work im gonna mess around with teh manual settings and get some good night shots
     
  9. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    post more shots please
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Your pic didnt work.


    And heres some more, mostly macro:

    A Page

    Keep in mind those are resized, but not touched in any way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  11. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    15 sec pics, no tripod

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  12. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    How long was the shutter time on that?

    And how do i tell it to take 15sec pics?
     
  13. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    the shutter speed was 15 seconds, go to the Tv mode
    at the bottom use the left/right buttons to change the shutter speed, it will change the apature accordingly

    btw, on ot upload it keeps giving me this wrong file type error, what gives
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Is that after cropping? i crop on PS7, i havent had any errors.


    Make sure windows hasnt called it a .JPG, it should be .jpg,

    On OTupload when you click browse and select your picture, then it shows the address in the box, go to the end then change the .JPG to .jpg
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I may try a slow shutter speed later.


    Nice pics though :cool:, no tripod but the camera was resting on something right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  16. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    ok, i tried a slow shutter pic at 15seconds.

    Here it is heavily resized:

    [​IMG]

    Its not very interesting cause my road is nto very busy, and theres no cars at night, unfortunatly theres no main roads near me.

    That was taken out my bedroom window, and the camera was just resting on the window sill.


    how do long shutter times affect daylight pics?
     
  17. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    i dont know long shutter speed in the day, maybe a second or two, but that might be too bright on sunny days, best bet is to just play around
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    man, the light pollution in my area sucks :(, you cant see a single star :dunno:
     
  19. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea
    you guys sound like you are really liking the a70. im getting mine on monday for $300.

    can any one post a macro shot...

    this is from my nikon 3100:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  20. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    where are you getting it for 300 ?
     
  21. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    so the longer the shutter speed, the more exposure there will be or what? can anyone explain to me?

    i am getting a70 in a week as well
     
  22. ihrs

    ihrs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    39,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PNW
    [​IMG]

    jsut took that, resized it about 40% of orig shot, email me if you want the original version

    basically, longer the shutter is open the more light can get on to the light sensitive ccd chip.

    ill go take a sample shot of that and post it, give me a min
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    There are several macro shots in that link:

     
  24. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea
    i have a friend at compusa who is can get it at cost for me.

    i read a lot of people are having problems with some of the pictures being very soft. are you guys encountering those?
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Yeah, you get softness sometimes, i havent quite gotten to grips with that yet.

    All my tripod/steady base shots have come out sharp, i think it may be the shutter speed etc, im not sure, im no pro

    But its not that bad, you can easily sharpen a bit in photoshop to make up for it in the occasions that it does come out soft.
     

Share This Page