Longtime ambitions, need some help with my soon to be new system.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jotti, Nov 29, 2004.

1. jotti

jotti New Member

Basically I need an upgrade from my Gateway AMD Athlon. I think it's like 800mhz, 20gig hdd, 128mb of some shitty gateway ram, nvidia 64meg vid card, and my cable internet.

I have been getting away with this thing for way too long, since gr 9 and i'm in first year college now. Last year i bought some stuff to put together a new system for myself but ran out of money and soon out of the ambitions to complete it. Well the time has come and I ask you guys to help me out.

Sofar i have:
    case
    motherboard
    very crappy ram that i got for 25 bucks can't be worth more than 5 bucks now.
    processor

The mobo is a Msi Kt3 Ultra2. From what i've read it's not the greatest out there but it is fairly decent. Here is a link/specs: http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/msi/kt3ultra/kt3ultrap1.htm

Here is some info on it:

CPU

- Support Socket A (Socket 462) for AMD® Athlon™ / Athlon XP / Duron™ processor
    - Support 600MHz up to 2000+ MHz processor and higher

Chipset

VIA® KT333 (552 BGA) Chipset
    - FSB @200/266MHz
    - AGP 4X and PCI Advanced high performance memory controller

VIA® VT8233A (376 BGA) Chipset
    - High Bandwidth V-link Client controller
    - Integrated Faster Ethernet LPC
    - Integrated Hardware Sound Blaster/Direct Sound AC97 audio
    - Ultra DMA 66/100/133 master mode PCI EIDE controller
    - ACPI
    FSB

100/133 (200/266)MHz clocks are supported
    Main Memory

-Support six memory banks using three 184-pin DDR DIMMs
    -Support a maximum memory size up to 3GB
    -Support 2.5v DDR SDRAM DIMM