A&P longer exposures?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by IntheWorks, Jan 14, 2003.

1. IntheWorks

IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

I have a cannon Rebel Ti..... it only has a setting to take 30 second exposures.... is there anyway I can take a longer exposure picture? I'm new to the 35mm world......

2. one66stang

one66stang Haters.com

look in your manual see if you have a featue called bulb. It means you hit the button and it opens and doesnt close till you hit the button again.

On my N65 when in shutter mode roll the dial to the --- and thats bulb.

3. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest

Love my camera :p

why whould you need 30 sec exposure?

4. fade

fade tie your shoe bitch

but with bulb, you'll want to experiement a lot with diff apertures and shutter speeds, cause there is no way in hell you're gonna find the perfect exposure.

unless you use a calculator :o

5. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest

nm, on my previou post :)

hehe

6. Jcolman

Jcolman OT Supporter

When you're using the "bulb" setting, you should also use a cable shutter release with a lock. This will allow you to lock the shutter open without having to touch the camera.

Regarding long exposue times, it's always best to take multiple shots at varying exposure times. I would keep the aperture setting the same and vary the times. Remember film is cheap. Don't be afraid to shoot a whole roll.

cheers
    Jim

7. bioyuki

bioyuki Ich habe Angst

Even better get a digital timer...most go anywhere from 1 sec to 99 hours. Sometimes the cable release interferes with autofocus and can still shake the camera a bit if not on a really sturdy tripod.

8. Joe

Joe 2015 :x: OT Supporter