Long-distance relationship advice

Discussion in 'Vaginarium' started by doubleb23, Feb 18, 2008.

1. doubleb23

doubleb23 Ooooo

I am currently in what is basically a long-distance relationship for the first time. I have intentionally avoided them in the past, and kind of fell into this one before I knew it.

I met my SO 5 months ago through work. We starting hooking up and over the course of the last 5 months it has become more serious and committed. I'm studying abroad now and we still keep in touch almost every day. She is going to be visiting me here for a week.

But now I'm starting to wonder if this is for me. When we talk on the phone or the internet it's fine, but kind of boring (for both of us, I think). It's pretty much stuff like everything is ok, went out with some friends, work is pretty good, that sounds like it would be fun, I miss you, etc. And that's it, obviously, since we're so far apart. I love being with people, being close to people, having fun and going out and being intimate, laughing at the environment around us and having sex. For me, that's what a relationship is. It isn't a phone conversation here and there. I'm craving those things, and there is a girl here who is (i'm pretty sure..) interested in providing them. We get along really well and stayed at a party last night until 6 a.m., just talking. We are both learning each other's languages and it is a lot of fun. She is lovely and kind.

It's ostensibly an "open relationship" right now, but of course it isn't at all since we still keep in touch and plan to continue the relationship when I return, etc. You know the deal. If I'm going to pursue other things, I don't want to keep things the way they are with my SO because I know that I would be pretty devastated to hear about her and somebody else.