WEB Local server issue woth PHP. Apache, MySQL and PHPMyAdmin

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nubian, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have installed:
    apache_2.2.11
    php-5.2.6-Win32
    mysql-5.1.30
    phpMyAdmin-3.1.2

    after entering in my u & p in phpmyadmin i get the following in firefox:
    Connection Interrupted
    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
    The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again.

    ie: The page cannot be displayed


    halp! :hs:
     
  2. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    firewall?
     
  3. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    i disabled that windows service, which is the ics service
     
  4. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    oh
    windows, I don't do windows
     
  5. Ricky

    Ricky █▄ █▄█ █▄ ▀█▄

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    38,766
    Likes Received:
    6
    i always run into some sort of problem setting up phpmyadmin

    especially now that it requires php 5.2+
     
  6. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    the older versions work with no issues.
    but i need to set up the newer versions

    php works fine
    mysql works fine at the cmd prompt

    i see the log-in screen for phpmyadmin but get said error above on both browsers.
     
  7. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Connection Interrupt is because of an SSL error. Go into your PHPMyAdmin settings and turn off force SSL redirect.

    I don't imagine you need SSL in a LAN environment. If you do you're going to need to create self-signed certs for the box.
     
  8. whup

    whup I wish you had children and.. so that I could step

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    fuck that, just use a VMWare virtual server for dev server on windows. There's some pretty good turn key LAMP server VMWare images out there you can DL for free. I've got like 8 different development servers on my LAN that I can fire up with the click of a button :coold:
     
  10. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    i did what you suggested

    Code:
    $cfg['ForceSSL'] = FALSE;
    i've even tried using:
    Code:
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['ssl'] = FALSE;
    still the same thing.
    i've even tried loading a non-ssl version of apache and still the same issue.





    i'm the to not use prepackages like those and just learn the troubleshooting issues
     
  11. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use LAMP on a spare box, or vm.
    Other than that, I would go with xamp
     
  12. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kind of a dumb question, but lets rule out all possible fudge factors.. From the machine itself can you connect to browse to localhost using IE or any other browser you have installed on it.

    And I'm going to have to ask also that you're able to remote desktop into it, yes?

    If you can't browse to http//127.0.0.1/ then you've got a problem with your IIS configs.
     
  13. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
  14. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    .
     
  15. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry got sidetracked by all the VMWare discussion in here. Last place to look at would be the error logs. Post the last 10 lines of both MySQL and Apache after you've done a request.

    Can you connect to phpmyadmin from the machine itself? Or is this error only for machines on your local network that are not the server itself.

    Lastly, what is the exact address written in the address bar after the username and password have been entered, remove whatever private information is there. (Trying to completely rule out the fact that it's connecting to SSL.)

    Check the Windows Firewall Rules in the security center, make sure the proper ports are open or the firewall is completely off, your preference.
     
  16. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for your support
     
  17. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    is this Vista? Seems like I heard about some type of loopback problem w/ ipv6 that might cause problems like this

    Might want to try removing this line from the hosts file

    ::1 localhost

    Not sure where it's at in Vista (all my shit's still on XP....waiting patiently for Windows 7 :hsd:)....just google it if you don't already know.

    I'm telling you.....here's the way to go :bigthumb:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm on winxp pro
    i don't see the ::1 localhost you are referring to

    here is what my host file looks like:

    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    # Start of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.007guard.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	007guard.com
    127.0.0.1	008i.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.008k.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	008k.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.00hq.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	00hq.com
    127.0.0.1	010402.coma 
    
    shit load of junks sites here 
    
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.zsvcompany.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	zsvcompany.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.zuoyouweinan.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	zuoyouweinan.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.zurrusco.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	zurrusco.com
    127.0.0.1	zvimigdal.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.zxcsolution.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	zxcsolution.com
    127.0.0.1	[url]www.zxlinks.com[/url]
    127.0.0.1	zxlinks.com
    127.0.0.1	zyban-zocor-levitra.com
    # This list is Copyright 2000-2008 Safer Networking Limited
    # End of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
    i use to run wamp and the other prepackage setups.
    but i'm just doing this for the sake of learning, troubleshooting and understanding.
     
  19. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read that others have been past this problem with an ipconfig /flushdns and clearing the browser's cache, this is pretty much copypasta from other forums, I don't personally see how it would work but give it a go, at this point who knows.



    :x:
     
  20. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    both certainly worth trying if he hasn't already. I was sort of assuming he'd already done this. This is step 1 for me in troubleshooting/debugging any problems that that ever occur in a web browser (which is probably the case for 99.9% of problems a web developer will face). Of course I generally use the button in Firefoox web developer toolbar to disable the browser cache, and I've got my dns cache completely disabled since I'm running a massive hosts file.
     
  21. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Care to share your hosts file, sans private domains?

    I always like seeing how people have theirs set up.
     
  22. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm not sure what you mean by sharing the hosts file.
    it's nothing special than what i posted above, it's just a long list of urls that spybots appends to.
    i'm not sure what you mean by sans private domains?
     
  23. pkr

    pkr Guest

    Dude MAMP is ftw on a Mac. It just works. :mamoru:
     
  24. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    http://andrewstallings.com/temp/HOSTS.txt

    nothing very interesting or anything :o. It's very effective at blocking ads though.

    Don't forget to disable dns cache if you use a HOSTS file that big
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  25. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's nice stuff, good work. Mind if I make use of some of your entries?

    Anyways, back to the topic at hand, nubian ignore that thread I got something mixed up.

    Whats the latest? Still same problem?
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009

Share This Page