Linux

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DynamiteHaxor, Mar 16, 2006.

1. DynamiteHaxor

DynamiteHaxor New Member

Kubuntu / Ubuntu or Fedora Core 5 (a kid in my Cisco class had Ubuntu on his laptop today)? I want a beginner one which I can get used to Linux on, be able to run enough apps and one that is well known so I can find help if I need it.

2. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Ubuntu. Avoid Fedora.

3. DynamiteHaxor

DynamiteHaxor New Member

I plan on installing Linux on some cheepo 60GB HDD or something that I pick up. I've never used Linux before, any guides or anything you can link to me about it all? How will I get NIC drivers once I install Ubuntu? Does it come with any drivers? How many MB / GB is Ubuntu? Download it on Windows, burn ISO to disc, boot from disc...install. Learnify me.

4. skelm

skelm New Member

Ubuntu.. works very well on laptops too

5. DynamiteHaxor

DynamiteHaxor New Member

I'm making a Live CD of Ubuntu right now so I can test it out. I'll go pick up a HDD tonight.

6. DynamiteHaxor

DynamiteHaxor New Member

Just ran it off the Live CD...it was pretty cool, came with all the tools you need pre-installed (music player, Firefox, office tools, etc.).

Can you install World of Warcraft on it? :)

7. DynamiteHaxor

DynamiteHaxor New Member

After an hour Google-ing and reading I've found that you CAN run WoW using WINE but it is a true bitch to get it running well if at all.

8. wtfmate

wtfmate OT Resident mafia insider

Not trying to hijack the thread or anything :o

I am actually planning on migrating my parents into linux, fedora was my choice, any reason why you think we should avoid fedora?

I man, if I had it my way I'd just put slackware on their system but I dont have a whole day setting it all up for them.

9. Ivy Mike

Ivy Mike New Member