linux to run on a 486

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by flynfrog, Jan 7, 2003.

  1. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    i jsut came into a 486 i want to run linux on it wahts an iso that dosent take much resouses and is simple to use
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Wheeew. My head's spinning.

    Hard drive space? RAM?
     
  3. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    You won't be able to run a GUI environment on a 486. So if you are a newbie to Linux and want the interface, you'll need at least a 180mhz, 64MB RAM computer. I used to run RH7.1 with KDE on a PC with those specs. It ran very slow, but it ran. :bigthumb:
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Hey I ran windows 95 and 3.11 on a 486?!? It seemed fast at the time :wtc:
     
  5. cunninglinguist

    cunninglinguist RAEPERQUICKING

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,919
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    NYC
    3.11 on a 486 is actually pretty fast.

    I remember I had 3.11 on my P75. That thing flew.
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I ran Mandrake 6 on a P/133 with 16 megs. GUI ran, but it was slooow. It's a firewall now ;)
     
  7. tenchuninja

    tenchuninja Guest

    slackware
     
  8. z y i r o

    z y i r o Guest

    yea id say slack or debian i had debian running on a old 386 with 4 mb of ram and had no problems....
     
  9. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    yeah i had slack 4.0 running on my old 386 till we dragged it behind my car.

    we got bored, needed to make some videos (test out a new camera). but that was 5 years ago... good old grade 10 :big grin:

    and i still havent put up a new linux firewall... something about college and no $$$... :(
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I have Debian on a 486 used as a firewall. Command line only. Even things like apt-get take a long time, I couldn't imagine a GUI on it.
     
  11. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    yuppers debian is the one
     

Share This Page