Linux Ping Problem v. Maybe i'm stupid?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Proteus, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Proteus

    Proteus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    Running ubuntu.
    Can ping other machines via hostname
    Can't ping via IP address.

    Super User, when i type ping <ip> it just goes to another line in terminal

    I can post screenshots, but there's really not much to see
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    As superuser, you should be able to ping.

    Try this: 'which ping'

    Then execute that path.
     
  3. Proteus

    Proteus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    Nothing.

    I can ping. Just via hostname but not via IP.
     
  4. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    nslookup or dig returns the same ip?
     
  5. Proteus

    Proteus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    erm yeah. its not a dns issue.

    It appears to be some sort of weird VNC problem. Everything is fine if i'm physically at the machine.
     

Share This Page